ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Newcomer - Looking For Info

Jun 3rd 2016, 13:07

ronniemus

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
My name is Ronnie. I'm 70 years young, after giving up SCUBA Diving, I decided I needed a hobby, and Radio Ham interest me. I have little or know experience with electronics, Ham Radio, but have some skills in the electrical field. I had just purchased the ARRL Technician License manual. It would be helpful for me if someone can answer a few questions.

Being an average student, how long will it be, for me to be ready, to take an exam for my license?

How much time are you permitted to take the exam?

Do most people pass the exam on the first try?

What is the link for a downloadable study guide?

Any additional information that you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Ronnie
Jun 3rd 2016, 16:45

W1VT

Super Moderator

http://www.arrl.org/exam-practice
Jun 3rd 2016, 22:11

W2NAP

Well Ronnie, getting licensed isn't hard but everyone learns at their own levels, some are quick others it takes a bit longer.

I believe you have 1 hour to finish the exam, but its been quite some time since I took one. (and im one of the quick guys I only needed about 15 minutes or so)

I would say most do pass. as long as they study.

Jun 5th 2016, 17:45

W0SJF