ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Equipment type certification vs. conformance?

Aug 24th 2016, 06:24

jazzop

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I find it ridiculous that different operating rules (e.g., amateur, GMRS, NTIA) seem to require entirely different equipment certification labels, making it expensive and cluttered for someone like me who has reason to operate on many different bands under different regulatory authorities.

As an FDA-compliance guy, I know that one is free to use any equipment one chooses, as long as you can show that it conforms to the regulatory requirements. In most cases, it's more convenient to purchase a major brand that has gone through the validation process already; but the option remains to build your own and run it through a testing protocol to show conformance.

I'm not an FCC expert by any means. Can anyone tell me if it is truly the case that you can't use a radio on a certain band unless it has a seal of approval (certification) under that regulatory Part? Or can you simply show (if inspected/audited) that the equipment meets the technical specs under that Part and that you operated it under the rules of that Part?

If you really are beholden to the manufacturer to have applied for certification under the Part(s) you care about, why don't more mfgs apply under as many as possible? Testing and validating a piece of electronics ain't as complicated as biomedical stuff (no offense, double-E's).
Aug 26th 2016, 01:48

W1VT

Super Moderator

I think the problem is there is no longer a "super user" license--there used to be First Class Telephone licenses that the FCC could used to ascertain user proficiency, but they are no longer issued.

http://wireless.fcc.gov/commoperators/index.htm?job=license