ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Ham-friendly tips for whole-house rewiring?

Sep 2nd 2016, 22:42

jazzop

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I'm looking to buy an older house that is a fixer-upper. After the inspection walk-through yesterday, it's apparent that we need to rewire the whole damn thing. Current service is single-phase, 100A. I already called the utility to see if 3-phase was available, but it's too far away and thus too costly. So I'll upgrade to 200A. I plan to use 10ga inside conduit exclusively.
Other components of the plan (feel free to tell me if I should reconsider any):
--lightning arrestors
--surge protection
--power conditioning
--UPS & generator backup
--PV panels

What are some things I should incorporate into my plan so that the house is as ham-friendly as possible?

I'm not an electrician or an electrical expert by any means, but I'm doing a lot of learning lately.

*********UPDATE 4SEP16**************
My bid got rejected on the house, and while I'm looking at others for sale in the area, my plans are now leaning heavily towards building from scratch.

Please share with me your wish lists and design criteria that you would want to put in the engineering specs for a new house, WRT radio-friendly infrastructure.

Note: I know that Faraday cages will be first on the list, but let's stay more in the realm of commonly accepted best practices.
Sep 6th 2016, 15:05

W1VT

Super Moderator

I'm not aware of a need for 3 phase power for ham radio, but a dedicated 240V line to the ham shack is typically needed to run a legal limit HF amplifier.

http://www.w8ji.com/house_ground_layouts.htm
For many homes, the most important consideration is protecting the house against lighting strikes that hit either the antenna or the power grid.