ARRL

Secure Site Login

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Mount discone antenna ontop of tv antenna

Jan 21st 2017, 23:02

thefuzz4

Joined: May 27th 2015, 02:32
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
So I'm in the process of cutting the cord so I got my OTA HD antenna hooked up this weekend to my old DirecTV mount. I then also decided to add a 5' piece of pipe to this as well so I can move my discone antenna from my attic to the top of this mast. So once I got the TV antenna mounted I decided to test out the interference with the TV when I would transmit. I only found it to interfere with 1 channel and this channel is the furthest away from me. It also only interfered on 70cm at 445.825 all of my 2m transmissions didn't have any effect on it. Now granted the 2 antennas are still separate at the moment since I'm waiting for my new coax to come in. I read some posts where people had their mounts done up differently with the TV ontop of 2m yagi antennas but I'm going the other route. Will there be any issues with having the discone on top of the HD antenna? Thank you all for your help with this I just don't want to get too carried away with all of this and find out I end up frying something.
Jan 22nd 2017, 15:06

W1VT

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
http://forums.qrz.com/index.php?threads/tv-and-ham-antennas-on-the-same-mast.162627/
Jan 22nd 2017, 17:04

thefuzz4

Joined: May 27th 2015, 02:32
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Thank you very much W1VT that is what I was hoping to find out. Thank you so much.

Back to Top