ARRL

Secure Site Login

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

ic718 transmit power problem

Nov 1st 2017, 16:23

jgospo24

Joined: Oct 24th 2017, 09:11
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
my ic718 does not transmit with more than 2 to 3 watts. I tune a new g5rv jr with a mfj 993-b tuner. when tuning on ritty mode, i show 118 watts with no swr and no reflrcted power. Resetting to ssb with 100 watts output selected i transmit but show 3 or less watts of power output and a reflected value of less than one watt. I changed feedline to rg213 but that changed nothing. Do I possibly have a problem with my finals? I would appreciate any help diagnosing this problem. Thanks much. // Jack (KE5TKZ)
Nov 1st 2017, 18:56

WA0CBW

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Remember that in SSB mode there is no output power until you speak into the microphone and the microphone gain is adjusted properly.
Bill
Nov 1st 2017, 20:49

jgospo24

Joined: Oct 24th 2017, 09:11
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Thanks Bill for that reminder. I do have the mic gain up to 80 and the icom set to 95 watts. I monitored my lack of output power while trying a few CQ calls. Of course, I received no replys. I tried both 17 and 20 meters.
Nov 2nd 2017, 08:19

W1VT

Super Moderator

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
It sounds like the microphone may not be be properly wired for the IC-718. Microphones are like camera lenses in that you can't necessarily swap Nikon and Canon SLR lenses even though the mounts are the same. Or you may have a defective microphone.

Zack Lau W1VT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer
Nov 2nd 2017, 09:53

jgospo24

Joined: Oct 24th 2017, 09:11
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Thanks for the thought Zack. I am using the icom hand mike thst came with the radio and I have also substituted an Sm-20 icom desk mike with no difference in outcome. I am really puzzled by this problem. Am getting ahold of a watt meter and dummy load tomorrow afternoon so will try and isolate the transceiver, tuner, feedline and antenna and look for a problem in the chain of items. If you have any other suggestions, i will try them also. Thanks so much for your inyredt in hrlping me with this problem. // Jack (Ke5tkz)
Nov 2nd 2017, 10:00

jgospo24

Joined: Oct 24th 2017, 09:11
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
That last line should have read "Thanks so much for your intrest in helping me with this problem." /Jack ( Ke5tkz) sorry about the slip up.
Nov 2nd 2017, 11:43

W1VT

Super Moderator

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Not likely if your description is totally accurate, but since it doesn't work. You want to push the PTT button to transmit. It won't transmit out of band. You may want to make sure the of the transmit frequency, which may be different from the receive frequency.

Zack W1VT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer
Nov 5th 2017, 18:56

jgospo24

Joined: Oct 24th 2017, 09:11
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Thanks to those who responded. my problem appears to have cleared up after I did a hard reset of the transceiver. Have made a couple of contacts with a reportedly good signal and audio so am back on the air. Thanks again for the assistance. // Jack (KE5TKZ)

Back to Top