ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Frequencies that should not be used..

Mar 26th 2018, 18:25

KE0PIK

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am new to Ham radio, recently gaining my General.
I finally put up an antenna that I could transmit with and unfortunately, the second frequency that I chose to call CQ on was 14.300 only to find out it is used by the Maritime Mobile Service Network. (Which ended up being my first contact).
Needless to say, I was horrified that I called out on a frequency that is used by emergency services.
I went off of the ARRL US Amateur Radio Band plan color .PDF which states absolutely nothing about the usage of that frequency.
Are there any other frequencies that I should avoid that are allocated for phone usage?
This really took the wind out of my sails!
At least I know my Transmit is working :-)
Thanks!
KE0PIK
Mar 27th 2018, 11:23

KB2E

Well, it's said that nobody owns a frequency and that is true except for 60 meters. There we are secondary. However it is just polite to recognize that certain nets have been around for a very long time on certain frequencies and we should yield to them as a matter of courtesy. This is becoming a problem of late on 40 and 80 meters with deliberate inerference by a few on long established net frequencies during net operations. Although they don't "own" the frequency courtesy is king and should be afforded.