ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

power for Kenwood TW-4000A

Aug 22nd 2019, 18:14

KN6CWJ

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Hi. I preface this by stating I am a retired software engineer not an electrical engineer. I can figure stuff out but for the moment I am in baby step mode so bear with me. I just recently received my technician license and join the local ham radio club. One of the members saw an opportunity to get rid(unload) of some of his old stuff and presented me with a Kenwood tw-4000A. He said it would be a good way to immerse myself in the world of ham radio. My thought is to set the Kenwood up as a base type unit but make it portable as well. I have no manual or any of the cables so the first challenge to to figure out the power source. My first thought was to use a booster. The Kenwood requires 13.8 volts and 7.5 amp. I purchased a WHDTS 5A Buck Boost Converter LCD Display, DC-DC 10V-50V Step Up Power Supply Module Adjustable Boost Adapter CVCC Constant Coltage Constant Current Converter with Shell. I used an old AC to DC power plug input 100 240 VAC and an Output of 12 volts 2 amps. I connected the booster output to the radio setting the volts to 15.8. The booster showed 6.6 watts .4177 amps which is not even close to the 7.5-amp requirement. So dumb questions time. What is the implication of not achieving the Kenwood volt amp levels. What do I need to learn to get the output to 13.8 volts 7.5 amps?
Aug 22nd 2019, 20:41

WA0CBW