ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Yaesu FT-818ND will not transmit with SignaLink

Dec 24th 2019, 09:37

kt1run

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Hi All,

I am a new ARRL member and ham trying to get into digital modes. I thought I would start with PSK-31 on 2 meters since I am a Technician.

I have struggled to get my Yaesu FT-818ND to transmit using a SignaLink USB for the past week. I have read the SignaLink USB manual and Yaesu FT-818 manual multiple times and have watched countless Youtube videos with no success. Any help would be appreciated.

Here are the details on how my radio is configured:
1. Front antenna is used with the stock rubber duck antenna. Menu #7 set to "FRONT".
2. The radio is tuned to 144.144 MHz and set to "DIG" mode
3. The SignaLink is plugged into the "DATA" port on the radio
4. Menu #3 9600 MIC set to "50"
5. Menu #25 DIG MIC set to "50"
6. Menu #26 DIG MODE set to "USER-U" (I have also tried PSK31-U)

The SignaLink is configured as follows:
1. Jumpers wired using SLCAB6PM. I checked the wiring multiple times. All wires look correct and they all look seated correctly. Note: I just ordered the jumper module to rule out any wiring issues with manual jumper approach.
2. TX is set to 12 o'clock position
3. RX is set to 12 o'clock position
4. DLY is turned fully counter clockwise.
5. Plugged into computer via USB.

Windows 10 is configured as follows:
1. Playback is using "USB AUDIO CODEC as the default device; Levels > Speakers set to "0.0 dB"; Enhancements > "Disable all enhancements" is checked;
2. Recording is using "USB AUDIO CODEC"; Levels > Line set to "0.0 dB"

DigiPan is configured as follows:
1. Sound card - Type > Computer soundcard; Input > USB AUDIO CODEC; Output > USB AUDIO CODEC; Samplerate, Hz > 11025