ARRL

Secure Site Login

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Antenna for a Yaesu FT991a Transceiver

Sep 24th, 13:10

KJ7PVJ

Joined: Aug 13th, 14:50
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am a new Ham operator. I passed my Tech License test a month ago and have been using my HT on VHF using local repeaters. I have been enjoying it so much I have decided to work on my General and build a ham shack. What a learning experience this has been and I have NO friends that are Hams (although I joined a local club, Voice of Idaho.) I have just received a big pile of equipment including a ZeroFive 30’ Flagpole (HOA restrictions in my neighborhood) antenna and a Yeasu Ft991A transceiver (along with power supply, tuner, radial wire, coax, and related stuff.) I will be putting my Flagpole up this weekend and starting to put everything together.

MY QUESTION: I need an antenna for 6m, VHF, and UHF as my needs for the other bands will be covered by the ZeroFive Flagpole. I have spent a lot of time on DX Engineering looking at antennas that will cover these bands but no easy solution is obvious to me. I assume the the 6m, VHF, and UHF will be covered through the second antenna port on the radio (CORRECT.)? I assume that when using these bands I can cover it with a three band antenna like a V2000A. This antenna requires a Triplexer MX2000. I don’t understand how this Triplexer would be hooked up to the FT991A, assuming I use the VHF/UHF antenna port (Correct?) If the multiplexer was not a required item I would have assumed that I could use the VHF/UHF antenna port. I could just get a UHF/VHF antenna and forgo the 6m but I prefer to not limit exploring this band, although this would be a more straight forward approach.

In summary: What antenna would you recommend or use for covering the 6m, VHF, and UHF bands? Is the 6m band covered with the UHF/VHF antenna port? How would you connect the three band antenna to the FT991A?

Thanks in advance. I can already see that this new hobby will be a long and expensive journey. Any knowledge or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Sep 24th, 13:25

W1VT

Super Moderator

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Page 25 of the manual describes the ports. One connector is for 2M/440. The other is for 6M/HF. Yaesu assume you are using a dual 2M/440 antenna and a 6+HF antenna. You could use a diplexer to split the HF/6M port into separate HF and six meter ports. As well as another diplexer to split 2M/440 from six meters. But, this is a rather convoluted and expensive approach.

If you live in an HOA it may be best to proceed slowly and not rush to put up antennas.

There is a lot to learn about operating all the HF and VHF/UHF bands. You may want to learn about one facet before moving onto another.

That said, I put up a 4 el 6M beam on a 20 ft mast and was able to work 56 countries this summer using the digital mode FT8.

Zak W1VT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer
Sep 24th, 13:40

KJ7PVJ

Joined: Aug 13th, 14:50
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Excellent suggestion and I thank you very much. As far as a VHF/UHF antenna, I was leaning towards a Comet GP3. Do you think this would be a good start for me?
Sep 24th, 18:06

W1VT

Super Moderator

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Someone local would be able to tell you whether that is enough or whether you may benefit from having a better antenna.

Eham.net has a product review section that can be useful in finding out if an antenna has issues like poor instructions.

Zak W1VT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer

Back to Top