ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

New: What is the best starter equipment?

Nov 12th 2020, 11:48

Neustein

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am new to amateur radio and got my technician license. I have been trying to figure out what equipment to buy, but have been overwhelmed. What is the best equipment one should get when starting out in amateur radio?
Nov 12th 2020, 15:29

W1VT

Super Moderator

If you can, I would avoid a handheld radio. A base station has a much better receiver and puts out more power.

HF can be a lot of fun but you need a General these days, as 10M propagation is too poor to seriously consider the band as someone just starting out. There is a ton of FT8 HF digital activity every day of the week, while there is more voice and CW activity on the weekends.

Zak Lau W1VT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer

Nov 13th 2020, 08:05

N6ZO

This is such a great hobby, especially for anyone with a curious mind. So many things to try- SSB voice, CW, satellites, digital, etc but the doors really open when you get your General license and are allowed SSB voice on the bands besides 10M.
At that point it’s time to look at serious equipment, starting with the antenna you can put up. There may or may not be restrictions at your QTH. A $10,000 radio is wasted $ if it’s hooked up to a rain gutter! Hopefully you can start with a good dipole, or a modest multiband vertical or horizontal antenna. Then start with a decent transceiver, maybe an FTDX 3000 or ICOM 7300. AND an antenna tuner if your antenna is multiband.