ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Lighting Protection

Jan 13th 2012, 01:01

Jartoc

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am new to the Ham world, just receiving my license in November. I opted to get a Kenwood mobile radio to use also as a base to be versatile. With that, I also purchased a Comet vehicle antenna to serve both the vehicle and base needs. The thing that I cannot understand is how to protect the equipment with a ligthing surpressor. I certainly know why it is needed, but in terms of installing one in my configuration I cannot find much information. Do I need one, where best should it be placed, and what would be a good surpressor are all things that I could use help on.
Jan 13th 2012, 06:47

KE8DO

Can you give more details? What band are you using, HF, VHF or UHF? How is your antenna mounted for base station use? The bigger and higher that your antenna is, the more inportant a good ground system and lighting surpression is. In your case, it may be just easier to disconnect the radio when it is not in use. For your best signal, it would be better for you to also have a base station antenna.
73 Don KE8DO
Jan 13th 2012, 23:52

Jartoc

It would help if I provide some information on the equipment, my apologies!

The antenna is a Comet CSB-750A, and is for 2M/440MHz. I have it mounted on the side of my upper roof. Reception and transmission has been good.
Jan 15th 2012, 04:29

WA0CBW