ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Confused about LotW

Mar 6th 2012, 15:32

kf5nrp

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am a newbie and have some really simple questions. I am embarrassed to ask, but I need to progress.

After I uploaded my TQ8 file, (which took me three weeks to learn how to do!), I see the next day that I have 17 QSO's and 1 QSL. I have read the book and know what it says about each, but I am not sure what the difference is. Can someone tell me what this means to me???

Thanks!

Butch - KF5NRP
Mar 6th 2012, 17:14

dondison

I am still trying to create the LoTW. The process is simple IF you have a degree in computer technology. I am not stupid but this system keeps hams from joining in.

Don KP3DD
Mar 6th 2012, 23:56

W1VT

Super Moderator

A QSO is a contact report you have successfully uploaded to LoTW.

In practice, the QSO total may be greater than the number of contacts you make--for instance--I accidentally got the time off by an hour on two of my contacts, so I uploaded contact reports with the correct time--which allowed LoTW to match at least one of those contacts. When LoTW finds a match, it increments your QSL total. These matched contacts are eligible for awards credit--just like getting a QSL card in the mail.

Zack Lau W1VT

Mar 8th 2012, 16:33

KC9LGW

Quote by kf5nrp

I see the next day that I have 17 QSO's and 1 QSL. I have read the book and know what it says about each, but I am not sure what the difference is. Can someone tell me what this means to me???

Thanks!

Butch - KF5NRP

I think that what you are asking is the difference between a "QSO" and a "QSL". A "QSO" is a contact, a "QSL" is that contact is confirmed, in LoTW it is confirmed by the other party. Until the contact is confirmed it remains a "QSO".

You cannot applied a QSO toward an award, only a QSL applies.