ARRL

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Need help getting on the air

Jun 4th 2012, 02:05

KF7SXD

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Please forgive my ignorance; I'm still very new to this field and trying to learn as I go. I have newly risen to the ranks of General, and still haven't actually enjoyed a QSO.
I have built three different DIY antennas, with mixed results. In each case (to varying degrees) I can receive but cannot transmit far enough to get a response. My guess is that the problem involves my feed line.

Radios are a Kenwood TS-430s and a Yaesu FT-817ND. They are connected to a tuner through a T connection, with only one radio in use at a time. I've tried an MFJ 934 tuner and an LDG Z-100Plus. I am unable to get a match with either tuner. I attributed this to my inexperience with the MFJ-934, and so got the autotuner. The Z-100Plus is also unable to get a match. I'm running RG-8 coax through a pvc pipe to get it through my wall and outside. I also use this pipe to run a 10ga copper wire to ground. All gear is connected to the ground lug on the tuner and then out through the wall to a 10' ground rod.
The first antenna was a skyloop mounted along the eaves of the house and then up hill behind the house to a pair of 10' PVC pipes, resulting in a square approximately 50' on a side. The second antenna was based on a random wire described here in the longwire topic in the forum (84 feet of landscape cable with one connector snipped at 25 feet). When this antenna was hung in an L up to the corner of the house and then out to one of the uprights for the skyloop and then draped on the ground. It worked best of any I've tried in this configuration for receiving, but when I hung it up along the fascia board on the eaves, it no longer works at all.