ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Mini USB Programmer

Oct 2nd 2012, 20:04

w2wo

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am new to this, with two very basic questions:

1. The ZIF socket does not have a "notch" (or dot) to match the PIC module. Is the ZIP socket lever in the "dot" position? Should the PIC be installed with the dot next to the lever, using the socket spaces closest to the lever?

2. USB drivers from the CD-ROM for the board? Is this the main CD-ROM that came with the kit? Otherwise, where do the USB drivers come from. (I have not tried it yet, pending a response to the first question.)

Bill Ogden
W2WO
Oct 4th 2012, 13:34

WA8SME

Super Moderator

Hi Bill,

From my experience, the ZIF handle coincides with pin 1 of the PIC.

On the second question, can you give some specifics on the board you are referring to?

Mark
Oct 4th 2012, 16:43

w2wo

On the bottom of page 3-2 of your book (revised edition) you mention a possible disk for USB drivers (for the USB programmer).

Also, the kit comes with a metal plate that rather obviously attaches to the bottom of the prototype board, although I cannot find it mentioned in the documentation. Is there a particular purpose for this metal plate?

Thanks,

Bill Ogden
Oct 5th 2012, 12:19

WA8SME

Super Moderator

Hi Bill,