ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Practical use of antenna, tuner, etc by new tech

Oct 18th 2012, 22:00

WA1UKG

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I'm a soon to be tech (again) - Last active over 40 years ago. I intend to do CW (QRP) to get my speed up, then move up to general or ?? (depending on available time). I will probably build a small CW xmitter to use with a separate receiver, or buy something like the You Kit HB-1B.

I have been reading many articles, but I'm still not sure if my antenna installation will be sufficient. My question has to do with the practical use of an antenna tuner. I can pretty easily hang a small whip onto a chimney, or maybe string 35' feet (total) of dipole between two chimneys. I expect I will need about 35 feet of coax to get inside the house to attach to the tuner. The TX will be close to the tuner.

Will I need to prune a dipole?
What coax should I use for a dipole?
What coax should I use for a whip?
Will a simple tuner take care of most frequencies?
Any recommendations for tuners?

I greatly appreciate any input.
Oct 18th 2012, 23:42

W1VT

Super Moderator

I suggest starting out with a 40 meter dipole, unless you like to operate at night in the winter and have big trees for an 80 meter dipole. Chances are, it will operate adequately without pruning, though you may get a slightly better signal with pruning. When running very low power, I've found it better to have a good antenna on one band that compromise antennas on several bands.