Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Foundation Announces 2008 Scholarship Recipients


In May 2008, the ARRL Foundation Board of Directors voted unanimously to award the prestigious William R. Goldfarb Memorial Scholarship to Austin Evans Wilmot, KD5QKS, of Dallas, Texas. Wilmot will graduate from Richardson High School this year with a cumulative GPA of 97.64, placing him 19th in a class of 431.

First licensed in 2001, Wilmot holds a Technician class license and was active in his elementary school's Amateur Radio club (W5SPS); he is currently active in the Richardson Wireless Klub, K5RWK. His commitment to volunteer service in his community included support for the Lone Star MS150 Bike tour and the City of Richardson's annual Christmas parade. He can be found on local repeaters and is currently studying for his General class license.

Wilmot credits Amateur Radio with helping to develop leadership, organization and communication skills. Wilmot's studies at Washington University in St Louis will concentrate on medicine and will include his interest in mathematics and finance. "I envision a future as a scientist and economist where I can apply my analytic skills with the compassion and curiosity that are my hallmark," Wilmot said.

The Goldfarb Scholarship is the result of a generous endowment from the late William Goldfarb, N2ITP. Before his death in 1997, Goldfarb set up a scholarship endowment of close to $1 million in memory of his parents, Albert and Dorothy Goldfarb. Awarded to one high school senior each year, the Goldfarb Scholarship assists the recipient to receive a four-year undergraduate degree in engineering or science or in the medical or business-related fields. The terms of reference of the generous Goldfarb scholarship award require that recipients demonstrate financial need and significant involvement with Amateur Radio, in addition to high academic performance. The sixth Goldfarb Scholarship winner, Wilmot continues the tradition of prior recipients, demonstrating superior academic performance, outstanding leadership and extraordinary Amateur Radio and community service.

More information on the Goldfarb Scholarship is available on the ARRL Web site. Applications for the Goldfarb Scholarship and other ARRL Foundation Scholarships are accepted each year beginning October 1 and ending February 1 for the academic year that starts the following August/September.

2008 ARRL Foundation Scholarships Recipients

The William R. Goldfarb Memorial Scholarship
Austin Wilmot, KD5QKS, Dallas, Texas

The Earl I. Anderson Scholarship -- $ 1250 each
Michael Volz, W2NRL, East Lansing, Michigan
Stephen Simpson, KC8IOY, Ocala, Florida
David Lambert, KC9BLA, Greenfield, Indiana

The Richard W. Bendicksen, N7ZL Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Michael Ton, WT0N, Parker, Colorado

The William Bennett, W7PHO, Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Chris Renfrow, KD7TDC, Ellensburg, Washington

The Henry Broughton, K2AE, Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Daniel Bradke, W2AU, Niskayuna, New York

The Mary Lou Brown Scholarship -- $ 2500
Sabra Perry, KD7JPR of Sweet Home, Oregon

The Central Arizona DX Association Scholarship -- $500
Elliott Liggett, KC8AOT, Tucson, Arizona

The L. B. Cebik, W4RNL, and Jean Cebik, N4TZP, Memorial Scholarship -- $ 1,000
Nicholas Bauer, KC9GZY, Bloomington, Indiana

The Challenge Met Scholarship -- $500 each
Reid Morine, W4RSM, Wilmington, North Carolina
Andrew Grimmett, KD8GQA, Charleston, West Virginia

The Chicago FM Club Scholarship -- $500
Lori Rose, N9BRH, Franklin, Indiana

The Tom and Judith Comstock Scholarship -- $2000
Thomas Catanach, KD5HHZ, Allen, Texas

The Irving W. Cook, WA0CGS, Scholarship -- $1000
Jonathan Rather, KC0CTR, Chanute, Kansas

The Charles Clarke Cordle Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Cameron Cato, KI4KJR, McDonough, Georgia

The Dayton Amateur Radio Association Scholarship -- $1000 each
Jonathan Baize, AD5OJ, Fort Davis, Texas
Stephen Hughes, KI4EBV, Brighton, Tennessee
Scott Button, KF3CP, Farmington, Pennsylvania
Jacob Wagner, KD8CDC, Rocky River, Ohio

The New England Federation of Eastern Massachusetts Amateur Radio Association Scholarships -- $1000 each
Andrew Milner, KB1KPF, Cranston, Rhode Island
Brita Simcik, KB1HTF, Bloomfield, Connecticut
Heather Jamieson, KB1IPO, Tiverton, Rhode Island
Kathryn Laughlin, KB1LAY, Williston, Vermont

The Charles N. Fisher Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
David Clark, KD7NZK, Phoenix, Arizona

The You've Got a Friend in Pennsylvania Scholarship -- $ 2000
Steven Chimel, KA3SRC, South Abington Township, Pennsylvania

The ARRL Foundation General Fund Scholarship -- $2000
Shannon Martinson, KC0YGI, Cavalier, North Dakota

The Paul and Helen L. Grauer Scholarship -- $ 1000
James Dunn, KC0KTP, Overland Park, Kansas

The K2TEO, Martin J. Green Sr. Memorial Scholarship -- $ 1000
Thomas Fielitz, KC8YAK, Smiths Creek, Michigan

The Albert H. Hix, W8AH, Memorial Scholarship -- $ 500
Rachel Jackman, KC8RVT, of Martinsburg, West Virginia

The Dr James L. Lawson Memorial Scholarship -- $ 500
Samuel Rose, KC2LRC, of Syracuse, New York

The Louisiana Scholarship -- $500
Mary McDonald, WB5LBR, Kenner, Louisiana

The Fred R. McDaniel Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Mitchel Wilkinson, KE5GQI, Austin, Texas

The Edmond A. Metzger Scholarship -- $500
Charles McClish, KB9RGF, Kokomo, Indiana

The David W. Misek, N8NPX Memorial Scholarship -- $1500
Janet Ruminski, KC8WGT, Beavercreek, Ohio

The Scholarship of the Morris Radio Club of New Jersey -- $1000
Andrew Cwalina, WA4JJZ, Aiken, South Carolina

The Northern California DX Foundation Scholarship -- $ 1500 each
Matthew Lape, N1XB, Francestown, New Hampshire
Gregory Davis, N3ZL, Florence, South Carolina

The Nemal Electronics Scholarship -- $1000
Kyle Fox, W4KTF, Warrenton, Virginia

The Peoria Area Amateur Radio Club Scholarship -- $500
John Hays, KC9LVZ, Hopewell, Illinois

The PHD Amateur Radio Association Scholarship -- $ 1000
Rebecca Rich, KB0VVT, Raytown, Missouri

The Thomas W. Porter, W8KYZ, Scholarship Honoring Michael Daugherty, W8LSE -- $1000
John Shipp, KC8TPN, Saint Bernard, Ohio

The Bill Salerno, W2ONV, Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Graham Sawyer, KC0YGT, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

The Six Meter Club of Chicago Scholarship -- $500
Neil Gebhardt, KB9ZGZ, LaMoille, Illinois

The Carol J. Streeter Scholarship -- $750
Kayla Check, N8KAY, Independence, Ohio

The Norman E. Strohmeier, W2VRS, Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Stephanie Schaefer, KC2NSA, Binghamton, New York

The Gary Wagner, K3OMI, Scholarship -- $1000
John Tyler Cook, KI4KVL, Roanoke, Virginia

The L. Phil and Alice J. Wicker Scholarship -- $1000
Daniel Ellis, KG4IVC, Pikeville, North Carolina

The YASME Foundation Scholarships -- $2000 each
William Fisher, W4WJF, Vale, North Carolina
Kathryn Ankenbauer, KD8AHA, Portage, Michigan
Andrew Alexander, KB9WPF, Yorktown, Indiana
Alex Brech, KC0YLD, Currie, Minnesota
Tyler Hall, KC9DYL, Rossville, Indiana

The Yankee Clipper Contest Club, Inc Youth Scholarship -- $1500
Jeffrey Kabel, KB1KXL, Hollis, New Hampshire

The ARRL Foundation administers scholarships for post secondary education students holding a valid FCC-granted Amateur Radio license. Scholarship awards range from $500 to $5000 or more and are available to high school seniors (or equivalent) or students currently enrolled in a college or university. Scholarships are funded by generous individuals and Amateur Radio organizations to encourage radio amateurs to pursue their educational goals. All ARRL Foundation-administered scholarships are intended exclusively for educational use, to provide assistance with costs of tuition, room, board, books and/or other fees essential to the education of the recipient.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn