Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Foundation Announces 2009 Scholarship Recipients


The ARRL Foundation Board of Directors is pleased to announce that they have awarded 52 scholarships to students in 21 states. Of these awards, 48 are annual scholarships with a total value of $54,700. In addition there are currently four holders of the William R. Goldfarb Memorial scholarship for whom the awards vary based on the college or university they attend, other awards they receive and other financial factors.

Last month, the ARRL Foundation announced that they had awarded the William R. Goldfarb Memorial Scholarship to Dean LaBarba, KI6CUX, of Long Beach, California. He will graduate from Woodrow Wilson High School this year with a GPA of 4.0. LaBarba holds a Technician class license that in 2005 led him to participation in the Amateur Radio Emergency Communication (AREC) team at his high school; since 2007, he has served as president. LaBarba also spends considerable time coordinating Amateur Radio activities, including Field Day, with the local community. LaBarba -- who will be attending Westmont College in Santa Barbara, California -- has had a keen interest in medicine and intends to pursue a career in neurology.

The Goldfarb Scholarship is the result of a generous endowment from the late William Goldfarb, N2ITP. Before his death in 1997, Goldfarb set up a scholarship endowment of close to $1 million in memory of his parents, Albert and Dorothy Goldfarb. Awarded to one high school senior each year, the Goldfarb Scholarship assists the recipient to receive a four-year undergraduate degree in engineering or science or in the medical or business-related fields. The terms of reference of the generous Goldfarb scholarship award require that recipients demonstrate financial need and significant involvement with Amateur Radio, in addition to high academic performance. The seventh Goldfarb Scholarship winner, LaBarba continues the tradition of prior recipients, demonstrating superior academic performance, outstanding leadership and extraordinary Amateur Radio and community service.

The ARRL Foundation administers scholarships for post secondary education students holding a valid FCC-granted Amateur Radio license. Scholarship awards range from $500 to $5000 or more and are available to high school seniors (or equivalent) or students currently enrolled in a college or university. Scholarships are funded by generous individuals and Amateur Radio organizations to encourage radio amateurs to pursue their educational goals. All ARRL Foundation-administered scholarships are intended exclusively for educational use, to provide assistance with costs of tuition, room, board, books and/or other fees essential to the education of the recipient.

2008 ARRL Foundation Scholarships Recipients

The Earl I. Anderson Scholarship -- $1250
William Nelson, KC9HVW, Ottawa, Illinois

The Richard W. Bendickson Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Jonathan Baize, AD5OJ, Fort Davis, Texas

The William Bennett, W7PHO, Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Elizabeth Alpert, KG6JDH, Palmdale, California

The Mary Lou Brown Scholarship -- $ 2500
Sabra Perry, KD7JPR, Sweet Home, Oregon

The Central Arizona DX Association Scholarship -- $1000
David Clark, KD7NZK, Phoenix, Arizona

The L.B. Cebik, W4RNL, and Jean Cebik, N4TZP, Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Frederick Meyer, KG6ECE, Soquel, California

The Challenge Met Scholarship -- $500
Reid Morine, W4RSM, Wilmington, North Carolina

The Thomas and Judith Comstock Scholarship -- $2000
Morgan Pinkerton, KE5OVF, Wagoner, Oklahoma

The Irvine W. Cook, WA0CGS, Scholarship -- $1000
Scott Durham, KC0QIL, Shawnee, Kansas

The Charles Clarke Cordle Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Chris Lee, KI4RSZ, Lawrenceville, Georgia

The Dayton Amateur Radio Association Scholarship -- $1000 each
Emily Stewart, KC0PTL, Leavenworth, Kansas
Thomas Fielitz, KC8YAK, Smiths Creek, Michigan
Nicholas Bauer, KC9GZY, Bloomington, Indiana
Alex Brech, KC0YLD, Currie, Minnesota

The New England FEMARA Scholarship -- $1000 each
Celeste Carruth, KB1QKY, Newton Highlands, Massachusetts
Lisa Capobianco, KB1HZY, Waterbury, Connecticut
Robert Giuliani, K1RJG, Shelton, Connecticut

The Charles N. Fisher Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Anthony Tran, KI6SYT, Garden Grove, California

The You've Got a Friend in Pennsylvania Scholarship -- $2000 each|
Robert Hoops, W3EGL, Watsontown, Pennsylvania
Aleda Leis, KB3SAY, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

The ARRL Foundation General Fund Scholarship -- $2000 each
Daniel Ellis, KG4IVC, Pikeville, North Carolina
Daniel Fourie, KI6SSK, San Jose, California

The Paul and Helen L. Grauer Scholarship -- $1000
Kerry Manderbach, K0XOK, St. Louis, Missouri

The K2TEO Martin J. Green Sr Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Jacob Wagner, KD8CDC, Rocky River, Ohio

The Albert H. Hix. W8AH, Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Rachel Jackman, KC8RVT, Martinsburg, West Virginia

The IRARC Memorial Joseph P. Rubino, WA4MMD, Scholarship -- $750
Josiah Devore, KJ4IEB, Jensen Beach, Florida

The Dr James L. Lawson Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Edward Schnell, KC2TGD, Montauk, New York

The Louisiana Memorial Scholarship -- $500
Richard Pellerin, KE5HSZ, New Iberia, Louisiana

The Edmond A. Metzger Scholarship -- $500
Jeremy Schotter, KC9GIC, Corydon, Indiana

The David W. Misek, N8NPX, Memorial Scholarship -- $1500
Janet Ruminski, KC8WGT, Beavercreek, Ohio

The Mississippi Scholarship -- $500
Justin Hughes, KE5VBT, Okalona, Mississippi

The Scholarship of the Morris Radio Club of New Jersey -- $1000
Thomas Catanach, KD5HHZ, Trinity, Alabama

The Ray, N0RP, and Katie, W0KTE, Pautz Scholarship -- $1000
Timothy Sell, KD0BKE, Topeka, Kansas

The Peoria Area Amateur Radio Club Scholarship -- $500
John Hays, KC9LVZ, Hopewell, Illinois

The PHD Amateur Radio Association Scholarship -- $1000
Rebecca Rich, KB0VVT, Raytown, Missouri

The Thomas W. Porter, W8KYZ, Scholarship Honoring Michael Daugherty, W8LSE -- $1000
Robert Garfield, W8BOB, Cincinnati, Ohio

The Bill Salerno, W2ONV, Memorial Scholarship -- $1000
Scott Button, KF3CP, Rifton, New York

The Six Meter Club of Chicago Scholarship -- $500
Michaline Sierakowski, KC9ARP, Chicago, Illinois

The Carole J. Streeter, KB9JBR, Scholarship -- $750
Alesha Blair, KG4UJI, Smyrna, Tennessee

The Zachary Taylor Stevens Scholarship -- $750
Ian Blodger, KD9AII, Lowell, Michigan

The Gary Wagner, K3OMI, Scholarship -- $1000
Andrew Grimmett, KD8GQA, Charleston, West Virginia

The L. Phil Wicker Scholarship -- $1000
Matthew Pepper, KJ4FUT, Oakton, Virginia

The YASME Foundation Scholarship -- $2000 each
William Fisher, W4WJF, Raleigh, North Carolina
Kathryn Ankenbauer, KD8AHA, Portage, Michigan
Noah Jaffe, W4IEI, Marietta, Georgia
Andrea Hill, KD8FJS, Bellefontaine, Ohio|
Michael Hodgen, KD7UUB, Centerville, Utah

The Yankee Clipper Contest Club, Inc. Youth Scholarship -- $1200
Henry Ferland III, KB1HOY, Gloucester, Massachusetts



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn