Register Account

Login Help


CQ Announces its 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees


CQ magazine has announced its 2016 Hall of Fame inductees. The list includes the election of non-amateurs to the CQ DX Hall of Fame for only the second time. There are two new inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, and 21 newcomers to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame.

CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors individuals, licensed or not, who have made significant contributions to Amateur Radio, and radio amateurs who have made significant contributions to Amateur Radio, to their professions, or to some other aspect of life.

Bob Arnold, N2JEU (SK): Co-developer (with Keith Lamonica, W7DXX, see below) of the first Amateur Radio remote base controlled over the Internet.

Grant Bingeman, (SK): Developed “method of moments” antenna modeling software for AM broadcast stations and 160 meter amateur antennas.

Bob Carpenter, W3OTC (SK): Pioneer of meteor scatter and FM stereo broadcast technology and long-time AMSAT volunteer.

David Dary, W5ZAX: Journalist, author, journalism educator, former correspondent for CBS and NBC, journalism professor at University of Kansas and University of Oklahoma, author of more than 20 books on the American West.

Matt Ettus, N2MJI: Software defined radio pioneer; developed first universal software radio peripheral (USRP) with GNU radio software support.

Terry Fox, N4TLF (ex-WB4JFI): Packet radio pioneer; primary developer of AX.25 Amateur Radio packet protocol.

Elmer “Bud” Frohardt Jr, W9DY (SK): The original “Elmer,” for whom ham radio mentors are named (courtesy of a 1971 QST “How’s DX?” column by Rod Newkirk, W9BRD/VA3ZBB).

Fred Gissoni, K4JLX (SK): Adaptive technology pioneer; co-developer of the Porta-Braille and Pocket-Braille note-taking devices for the visually impaired and of many other devices.

Ken Kellerman, K2AOE: Radio astronomer; pioneer of radio interferometry; co-developer of very long baseline interferometry (VLBI), which permits multiple telescopes to function as a single instrument.

Keith Lamonica, W7DXX: Co-developer (with the late Bob Arnold, N2JEU) of the first Amateur Radio remote base controlled over the Internet..

George Mitchell, K6ZE (SK): Member of the Tuskegee Airmen in World War II and 2007 recipient of the Congressional Gold Medal for his wartime service.

Les Mitchell, G3BHK (SK): Founder of Jamboree on the Air (JOTA), annual event to introduce Amateur Radio to scouts and guides around the world.

William Moerner, WN6I: Co-recipient of the 2014 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his work in high-resolution microscopy.

Leigh Orf, KG4ULP: Co-developer of tornado simulator using computer modeling to simulate conditions under which tornadoes form.

Joe Rudi, NK7U: Former Major League Baseball player and three-time All-Star.

Wes Schum, W9DYV (SK): Co-founder of Central Electronics, which developed the first commercially manufactured Amateur Radio SSB transmitter.

Garry Shandling, ex-KQ6KA/KD6OY (SK): Well-known comedian, actor, writer, and television personality.

Mason P. Southworth, ex-W1VLH (SK): Head of ARRL International Geophysical Year (IGY) Propagation Research Project in 1958-59; conducted additional propagation research at Stanford University.

Boris Stepanov, RU3AX (ex-UW3AX): Leading Russian amateur, deputy editor of Radio magazine; pioneer of computerized contest logging and log checking; developed prototype for World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC); first to propose “glass cockpit” for ham transceiver, combining frequency readout and spectrum scope on front-panel display.

Rufus Turner, W3LF (SK): Believed to be the first African-American radio amateur in the US; helped to develop 1N34 germanium diode; wrote 1949 article in Radio-Electronics magazine, “Build a Transistor.”

Perry Williams, W1UED (SK): Long-time ARRL Washington Coordinator and League archivist; helped to convince Congress not to charge amateurs a license application fee, instead arguing convincingly in favor of creating a vanity call sign program; persuaded FCC to retain large amateur microwave allocations and to create primary amateur allocation at 2.4 GHz

CQ DX Hall of Fame

The CQ DX Hall of Fame honors amateurs who excel not only in personal performance  as DXers but give back to the hobby in outstanding ways. For only the second time in its history, CQ this year has inducted some non-amateurs to the CQ DX Hall of Fame (the first was Islands on the Air founder Geoff Watts in 1977).

Nigel Jolly, KC3HAE, and the Crew of the R/V Braveheart: Jolly, his crew, and the Braveheart have provided transportation for — and assured the safety of — many major DXpeditions to southern islands over the past 15 years, DXpeditions that likely would not have taken place otherwise.

Roger Balister, G3KMA: As manager of the Islands on the Air program since 1985, Balister has seen IOTA grow from a few hundred early participants to more than 10,000 today, making it one of the most popular award programs in Amateur Radio.

CQ Contest Hall of Fame

The Contest Hall of Fame honors amateurs who excel not only in personal performance  as contesters but give back to the hobby in outstanding ways.

Tod Olson, K0TO: Founding editor of National Contest Journal; past ARRL Section Manager, Vice Director, Division Director, and International Affairs Vice President.

Richard Strand, KL7RA (SK): A radio astronomer who took advantage of the quiet of the northern latitudes for his research, Rich Strand built and maintained highly competitive contest stations in a very difficult environment and was, for many hams, the only CQ Zone 1 contact.

Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame take place in conjunction with Dayton Hamvention®. CQ Contest Hall of Fame presentations are made at the Dayton Contest Dinner by CQ World Wide DX Contest Director Randy Thompson, K5ZD; CQ DX Hall of Fame inductions are made at the Dayton DX Dinner on behalf of CQ by noted DXers and CQ DX Hall of Fame members Bob Allphin, K4UEE, and Ralph Fedor, K0IR. -- Thanks to CQ Magazine



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn