Register Account

Login Help


CQ Names 2015 Hall of Fame Inductees


CQ magazine has announced its 2015 Hall of Fame inductees, adding two members apiece to the CQ DX and Contest Halls of Fame, as well as nine new members to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, licensed or not, who have made significant contributions to Amateur Radio, and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to Amateur Radio, to their professions, or “to some other aspect of life on our planet,” CQ said.

The 2015 Inductees to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

Tim Allen, KK6OTD — Actor and star of the ABC comedy “Last Man Standing,” on which his character is also a ham, Mike Baxter, KA0XTT.

Charles Apgar, ex-2MN (SK) Uncovered German spy transmissions from Telefunken shore station WSL in New York during World War I, before the US became involved in the hostilities.

Dr Dan Benishek, KB8TOW — Member of Congress from Michigan, medical doctor and advocate for veterans.

Olof Lundberg, G0CKV — Leader of the communications satellite industry for a quarter-century. Founding director general of Inmarsat; founder, CEO, and Chairman of ICO Global Communications, and CEO of Globalstar Inc.

Bre Pettis, W2BRE — 3D printing pioneer and founder of MakerBot.

Alvino Rey, W6UK (SK) — A leading musician of the swing era, Rey is considered the father of the electric guitar and inventor of the talk box, pickups, and other electronic musical devices. He combined his love for music with his love of radio to transform the music world.

Bob Twiggs, KE6QMD — Co-inventor of the CubeSat design model.

Greg Walden, W7EQI — Member of Congress from Oregon and chairman of the House Communications and Technology Subcommittee.

Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, YD2JKW — President of Indonesia. 

The CQ DX and Contest Halls of Fame honor those amateurs who not only excel in personal performance in these major areas of Amateur Radio but who also give back to the hobby in outstanding ways.

The 2015 inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame

Yasuo “Zorro” Miyazawa, JH1AJT — A DXer, DXpeditioner, educator, and philanthropist, Zorro is the founder and CEO of the Seisa Group, which operates schools in several countries, and is founder/CEO of the Foundation for Global Children, which provides medical and educational support for children in Japan, Bhutan, Myanmar, Cambodia, and Bangladesh. Zorro has also helped promote or re-introduce Amateur Radio to many of these places, and has donated money and/or equipment to help amateurs in rare locations get on or stay on the air.

Michael Wells, G7VJR — is founder of ClubLog, an online DXpedition log-hosting tool that has changed the face of DXpedition operating by, among other things, allowing operators to upload their logs while their DXpedition is still in progress, permitting hams around the world to know if they are in the log on a given band or mode. A DXpeditioner himself, he has been part of a half-dozen major operations and has operated from 25 DX entities over the past 10 years.

The 2015 inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame

Doug Grant, K1DG — Doug served as president of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship Board of Directors. Not only is he a world-class contester, he has shared his knowledge and skills with others. He has built or helped to build several championship contest stations, is a founding member of the Yankee Clipper Contest Club, a founding director of the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation, a regular instructor at Contest University, and the Dayton Hamvention Contest Forum moderator for the past 20 years. He has competed in five World Radiosport Team Championships (WRTC) events, medaling three times.

Ward Silver, N0AX — Ward has been a contester for more than 4 decades and has operated from some of the world’s top contest stations, spanning four continents. A founder of the World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) competitions in 1990, Ward is currently Secretary of the WRTC Sanctioning Committee. He is also president of the Yasme Foundation, which supports DXpeditions and contest operations around the world, QST contesting editor and author of Ham Radio for Dummies and Circuitbuilding Do-It-Yourself for Dummies.

Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame will take place at Dayton Hamvention. More detailed descriptions of inductees will appear in the official announcement in the July 2015 issue of CQ magazine.




Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn