Register Account

Login Help


Former AMSAT President Bill Tynan, W3XO, to Receive RCA’s Goldwater Award


The Radio Club of America (RCA) has announced that William A. Tynan, W3XO, of Kerrville, Texas, will receive its 2012 Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award. First given in 1994, the Goldwater Award is given to an RCA member who is also a licensed amateur in recognition of a long record of service to the public through the use of Amateur Radio. Tynan -- an RCA Fellow and an ARRL Life Member -- will receive the award at the RCA’s 103rd annual awards banquet, held in New York City on November 16. ARRL Chief Executive Officer David Sumner, K1ZZ, also an RCA Fellow, will be the banquet’s keynote speaker.

Tynan is a Charter Member of AMSAT, and served on its Board of Directors and as its President from 1991-1999. He conducted QST’s monthly column, “The World Above 50 MHz,” from 1977-1992. Tynan also served as President of the Central States VHF Society (CSVHFS). According to the RCA, he played a key role in the origination of Amateur Radio from the space shuttle and the International Space Station

Two other radio amateurs will also be recognized at the RCA banquet: Carole Perry, WB2MGP, will receive the President’s Award, and Gordon West, WB6NOA, will receive the Special Service Award. The President’s Award is given at the discretion of the RCA President to a person for unselfish dedication to support of The Radio Club of America. The Special Service Award is given to those who have contributed substantially to the support and advancement of The Radio Club of America; the recipient does not need to be an RCA member.

The following RCA members will also be recognized:




Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn