ARRL

News

Hurricane Watch Net Activates

09/01/2008

The National Hurricane Center's Hurricane Watch Net posted this information on August 31:

"Sunday, August 31 the net plans to activate at 1500EDT (1900UTC) for the purpose of establishing a list of available reporting stations along the northern Gulf Of Mexico shores beginning Monday morning as extremely dangerous hurricane Gustav is forecast to make landfall in that area. At this moment it seems for sure that we will activate again at first band opening on Monday morning (0800 EDT, 1200 UTC)."

The Hurricane Watch Net is using these frequencies during the Hurricane Gustav emergency:

  • 20 meters: 14.325 MHz USB
  • Main frequency during Hurricanes -- 40 meters: 7.268 MHz LSB
  • Water Way Net (secondary frequency) Maritime Mobiles Net -- 80 meters: 3.815 MHz
  • Caribbean Net (alternates: 3.950 North Florida / 3.940 South Florida)

Amateur Radio EchoLink/IRLP

  • EchoLink Conference "WX-TALK" Node 7203
  • IRLP Node 9219
  • West Gulf Emergency Health and Welfare Net: 7.290 LSB Day, 3.935 LSB Night

Please respect the Nets and do not transmit if you have nothing truly important to contribute. There is a 72 hour moratorium on inbound Health and Welfare traffic.



Back