Register Account

Login Help


Kay Craigie, N3KN, Wins Third Term as ARRL President


[UPDATED 2014-01-23 2102 UTC] The ARRL Board of Directors has elected League President Kay Craigie, N3KN, to a third two-year term. The Board met January 17 and 18 in the Hartford, Connecticut, area for its annual meeting, and the election of officers was at the top of the business agenda. The League’s 15th president, Craigie lives in Blacksburg, Virginia, and has been in office since 2010, succeeding Joel Harrison, W5ZN. 

The Board also re-elected First Vice President Rick Roderick, K5UR, to a new two-year term. ARRL Northwestern Division Director Jim Fenstermaker, K9JF, was elected Second Vice President to succeed incumbent Bruce Frahm, K0BJ. Northwestern Division Vice Director Jim Pace, K7CEX, will accede to the Director’s chair, leaving a vacancy in the Vice Director’s position, which will be filled by appointment.

Also elected to new two-year terms were International Affairs Vice President Jay Bellows, K0QB, and Treasurer Rick Niswander, K7GM.

In addition the board chose ARRL Executive Committee members and ARRL Foundation directors. Elected for one-year terms to the Executive Committee were Central Division Director George R. “Dick” Isely, W9GIG; Pacific Division Director Bob Vallio, W6RGG; Midwest Division Director Cliff Ahrens, K0CA; Hudson Division Director Mike Lisenco, N2YBB, and West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV.

ARRL Foundation Board Director members elected for three-year terms were Ahrens, Frahm, and Fenstermaker. Gene Hastings, W1VRK, retired from the Foundation Board after many years of devoted service.

As the International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) International Secretariat, the ARRL, after consultation with the IARU Administrative Council, nominates candidates for IARU President and Vice President. The Board instructed ARRL Secretary David Sumner to vote to ratify the nominations of incumbent IARU President Tim Ellam, VE6SH, and incumbent IARU Vice President Ole Garpestad, LA2RR, for additional five-year terms.

The Board’s 15 voting members are the ARRL Division Directors, elected by ARRL members in those divisions. The Board meets twice a year, in January and July.

Other Major Actions of the Board

  • Instructed the Public Relations Committee and staff to develop a draft document appropriate for presentation to legislators and other government officials explaining radio amateurs’ contributions to the public, and to develop a mechanism for collecting and making available presentation materials for use by clubs in training and promotion.
  • Instructed the HF Band Planning Committee to reach out to the membership regarding concerns pertaining to the increasing popularity of data modes and to investigate and suggest ways that these modes can coexist.
  • Instructed staff to prepare answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) about the ARRL “symbol Rate” Petition for Rule Making (PRM), RM-11708.
  • Received the final reports from three committees that had completed their work and discharged those committees with thanks: The Emergency Communications Advisory Committee (ECAC), Committee on Youth in the Second Century, and Centennial Celebration Committee. Consideration of the recommendations contained in the extensive report of the ECAC is ongoing.
  • Bestowed the 2013 Joe Knight Distinguished Service Award for Section Managers on longtime Mississippi Section Manager Malcolm P. Keown, W5XX.
  • Conferred 2013 George Hart Distinguished Service Award on Mark Rappaport, W2EAG, for his work in and for the National Traffic System.
  • Selected media professionals in Delaware and Michigan as recipients of the 2013 Bill Leonard, W2SKE, Professional Media Awards.
  • Scheduled the July Board meeting for July 21-22, immediately following the ARRL Centennial National Convention in Hartford.

President Craigie announced committee appointments for the coming year, including new chairmen of two standing committees: Dakota Division Director Greg Widin, K0GW, as chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee, and Rocky Mountain Division Director Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT, as chairman of the Programs & Services Committee. 

The ARRL Board selected media professionals in Delaware and Michigan as recipients of the 2013 Bill Leonard, W2SKE, Professional Media Award.

  •  For print excellence -- Kim Hoey (writer) and Gary Emeigh (photographer), of The News Journal, Wilmington, Delaware, featured aspects of the Delmarva Hamfest in their November story, "Calling Fans Of Hams." 
  • For TV/video excellence -- Rich Luterman, chief meteorologist at Fox 2 Television in Detroit, Michigan, presented the Oakland County Amateur Radio Public Service Corps's efforts and mission during SKYWARN Recognition Day. 
  • For radio/audio excellence -- Bill Colley, afternoon host on WGMD-FM in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, discussed the club's upcoming Amateur Radio license class with Bill Duveneck, KB3KYH, of the Sussex Amateur Radio Association (SARA), "in a positive and engaging manner."   

The official minutes of the annual meeting have been posted to the ARRL website.





Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn