Register Account

Login Help


May Section Manager Election Results Announced


In the only contested Section Manager race this spring, Mel Parkes, NM7P, of Layton, was re-elected as the Utah Section Manager with 480 votes. His opponent, Lauri "Mac" McCreary, KG7C, of Lehi, received 147 votes. Parkes, who has held the Section Manager's post since 1999, begins his sixth consecutive two-year term of office on July 1. Election ballots were counted on May 19 at ARRL Headquarters.

In the San Joaquin Valley Section, Dan Pruitt, AE6SX, becomes Section Manager on July 1 when he takes the reins from Charles McConnell, W6DPD. Both live in Fresno. Pruitt was the only nominee for this upcoming new term of office. He has held Public Information Officer and the Emergency Coordinator appointments since 2005.

McConnell decided not to run for another term of office after having served as Section Manager for seven years. Prior to his term as Section Manager, he served as ARRL Pacific Division Director for four years, from 1990-1993; he was also Pacific Division Vice Director in 1989. In 1976, McConnell became the Section Communications Manager, serving for 13 years.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for their next terms of office beginning on July 1: Bob Beaudet, W1YRC (Rhode Island); Jim Cross, WI3N (Maryland-DC); John Dyer, AE5B (West Texas); Joe Giraudo, N7JEH (Nevada); Richard Krohn, N2SMV (Northern New Jersey), and Al Shuman, K1AKS (New Hampshire).



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn