Register Account

Login Help


Nominations Open for Lighthouse Activator of the Year Award


The Amateur Radio Lighthouse Society presents an annual award to the ham who has done the most during the previous year to promote the activation of any of the world’s nautical light beacons. The award consists of an etched brass plaque mounted on a wood base. The photo shows the 2009 plaque as presented to the winner, Jim Elliott, KA3UNQ.

Criteria for selection are not necessarily based solely on the number of activations, but also include the rarity of the beacons activated during the previous year, the technical difficulties in activating the beacons and their remoteness.

Winners are selected by a majority vote of the ballots sent to the ARLHS via e-mail or by postal mail to the ARLHS HQ, 114 Woodbine Ave, Merchantville, NJ 08109, USA.

Any licensed amateur anywhere in the world is qualified for the award, but winners from previous years are not qualified. Ballots should include the nominee’s call, name, address, e-mail address (if available) and a brief paragraph (50-100 words) describing why the nominee should receive the award, citing specifics where possible. Deadline for submissions is December 31, 2010.

The award is provided by The Weidner Publishing Group.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn