Register Account

Login Help


Past ARRL President Haynie Among West Gulf Division Honorees:


At its First Annual West Gulf Division Awards presentation at HamCom in early June, ARRL President Emeritus Jim Haynie, W5JBP, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Haynie, who once served as West Gulf Division Director, was the League’s president from 2000 until 2006. Named as Ham of the Year was Bill Supulveda, K5LN, while Luke Leel, KC5LSL, was designated Young Ham of the Year. The Excellence Award (EmComm) went to Stuart Rohre II, K5KVH.

I have always believed that we hams should spend more time recognizing the efforts of our volunteers at all levelslocal, Section and Division,” said West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV, who called volunteers the crucial element of any organization.” Woolweaver said that as Director, he identifies and congratulates ARRL volunteers at the start of every ARRL forum and reminds members to recognize their club officers. “This year that philosophy was expanded by creating the West Gulf Division Awards of Ham of the Year, Young Ham of Year and the Award for Excellence. Volunteers deserve the attention and our gratitude.

Woolweaver is accepting nominations for the 2014 WGD awards. The submission deadline is April 15, 2014.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn