Register Account

Login Help


Team Leaders Selected for WRTC 2010


After a grueling selection process, the organizers of the 2010 World Radiosport Team Championships (WRTC) have selected team leaders representing all six continents. Of the 76 applications submitted, 44 were chosen as Team Leaders. These Team Leaders will then choose a partner. WRTC, held every few years, takes place during the IARU HF World Championships, July 10-11. In 2010, WRTC will be held just outside Moscow.

WRTC began in 1990 under the auspices of the Goodwill Games, the brainchild of Ted Turner of CNN fame. The first Games were organized in Seattle, Washington, and focused on areas of cultural exchange, arts and other unique subjects -- one of these being Amateur Radio and WRTC. Radio amateurs from around the world gathered in an Olympic-style event, joining in competition and camaraderie. In 1996, WRTC moved to San Francisco, then Slovenia in 2000, Finland in 2002 and Brazil in 2006.

Eleven Teams will come from North America, 21 teams will come from Europe, six from Asia, one from Africa, one from Central America, two from Oceania and two from South America. Another six teams -- the WRTC 2006 Champions, a host team and four sponsored teams -- will bring the total to 50 teams. Each Team Leader will also nominate a referee, who, along with volunteers from the radiosport community, will be placed on a referee nomination list. From that list, referees will be selected and assigned to teams. During the competition, the team referee must be from a different country than that of the team and cannot be the one who was nominated by that team.

The 2010 WRTC will be held outside, "Field Day-style." According to organizers, the fields upon which WRTC will take place are located in a flat area about 35 kilometers south of Moscow in the Domodedovo district. Competitors will be located in clusters of 15-20 teams each in a total area encompassing about 40×30 kilometers. Height differences between teams will be no greater than 40 meters and each team will be separated by at least 500 meters. In order to prepare for this style of operation, organizers operated from these fields for the 2009 running of the Russian Radiosport Team Championship.

Each team will have antennas and power monitors supplied, along with a tent, generator (and gasoline), tables, chairs and water. To avoid team members spending time refilling the generator, organizers will have a person dedicated at each location to help keep it up and running during the contest period.

Representing Area 1 of North America (W1, W2, W3 and the VA, NC, SC, FL and GA portions of W4) are Randy Thompson, K5ZD; Jeff Briggs, K1ZM, and Andy Blank, N2NT. Area 2 (the KY, TN and AL portions of W4 and W8 and W9) will be represented by Mike Wetzel, W9RE, and Scott Robbins, W4PA. Steve London, N2IC, and Kevin Stockton, N5DX, will represent Region 3 (W5, W0). Daniel Craig, N6MJ, and Mitch Mason, K7RL, will represent Area 4 (W6, W7, KL7). Area 5 (VE1, VE2, VE3, VE4, VE9, VY2 and VO2) will be represented by Yuri Onipko, VE3DZ. Area 6 (VE5, VE6, VE7 and VE8) will be represented by Lee Sawkins, VE7CC.

WRTC 2010 is supported by the Moscow Regional Government and the Northern California DX Foundation (NCDXF).



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn