Register Account

Login Help


The Yasme Foundation Announces 2012 Yasme Excellence Award Recipients and Supporting Grants


The Yasme Excellence Awards are given to individuals who through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to Amateur Radio. Their contribution may be in recognition of technical, operating or organizational achievement. The Yasme Excellence Award is in the form of a cash grant and an engraved crystal globe.

The Yasme Foundation has recognized the following individuals “in order to inspire them and others on behalf of Amateur Radio now and in the future.”

  • George Fremin, K5TR; Tree Tyree, N6TR; Trey Garlough, N5KO, and Scott Neader, KA9FOX, for their contributions to many infrastructure projects that benefit the ham community at large.
  • ARRL Education and Technology Program Director Mark Spencer, WA8SME, for his instrumental work in the ARRL Teachers Institute on Wireless Technology and other training efforts, development of PIC microcontroller projects and books for amateurs, as well as working with leaders in student and scientific teams in applying Amateur Radio to scientific projects and experiments.
  • Champ Muangamphun, E21EIC, and Pornchai Semjang, HS2JFW, for leadership in Thailand’s amateur community, especially during the recent flooding which helped open the door to the new Thai HF licensing and the enhanced stature of Amateur Radio with the Thai government.
  • Former NCJ Editor Carl Luetzelschwab, K9LA, and Tomas Hood, NW7US, for their sustained education of the amateur community regarding propagation, solar and geomagnetic physics.
  • David Freese, W1HKJ, for creating and maintaining the freeware software package Fldigi, probably the most widely used digital communication software in ham radio and a frequent gateway for new hams who are more familiar with computer-based communications.
  • Former ARRL Assistant Technical Editor Dean Straw, N6BV, for his contributions to amateur antenna system design and the development of software tools, such as HFTA to optimize system design.
  • Peter Martinez, G3PLX, and Pawel Jalocha, SP9VRC, for their individual and distinct contributions to digital communications technology. Martinez is recognized for his invention of PSK31, a widely used digital mode that enables many amateurs to successfully communicate on HF with very modest stations. Jalocha is recognized for his contributions to the field of digital signal processing as applied to communications systems that are used by amateurs, such as the mode Olivia.
  • Arie Kleingeld, PA3A; Ad Van Ginneken, PA8AD, and Arie Noordzij, PA3AN, for their sustained contributions to the Mercy Ships Project.

The Board of Directors also announces supporting grants to the following projects:

The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to conduct scientific and educational projects related to Amateur Radio, including DXing and the introduction and promotion of Amateur Radio in developing countries.


This revision of the Yasme Foundation's original award announcement clarifies the relative contributions of award recipients Peter Martinez, G3PLX, and Pawel Jalocha, SP9VRC. The Yasme Foundation apologizes for creating any confusion about the origins of PSK31.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn