ARRL

News

Three Hams Scheduled to Head to ISS This Weekend

07/10/2012

NASA will televise the launch and docking of the next mission to the International Space Station (ISS), scheduled for 8:40 PM (CDT) Saturday, July 14 (0140 UTC, Sunday, July 15). NASA Flight Engineer Sunita Williams, KD5PLB, along with Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko, RK3DUP, and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, KE5DNI, are completing preparations as they undergo their final Soyuz spacecraft fit. Live NASA TV coverage of the Soyuz TMA-05M spacecraft launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan begins at 8:30 PM CDT on Saturday, July 14 (0130 UTC July 15).

The trio will arrive at the station on July 16, joining NASA Flight Engineer Joe Acaba, KE5DAR, and two Russian cosmonauts: Expedition 32 Commander Gennady Padalka, RN3DT, and Flight Engineer Sergei Revin, RN3BS. Acaba, Padalka and Revin have been aboard the ISS since mid-May. Williams, Malenchenko and Hoshide -- who also will be part of the Expedition 33 crew starting in September -- will return to Earth in mid-November.

NASA TV’s scheduled coverage is as follows:

Tuesday, July 10

  • 1 PM CDT (1800 UTC) -- Video file of the Expedition 32/33 crew activities in Baikonur, Kazakhstan.

Wednesday, July 11

  • 1 PM CDT (1800 UTC) -- Video File of Expedition 32/33 crew activities in Baikonur, Kazakhstan and Soyuz TMA-05M mating operations.

Thursday, July 12

  • 1 PM CDT (1800 UTC) -- Video File of Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M rollout to the launch pad in Baikonur, Kazakhstan.

Friday, July 13

  • 1 PM CDT (1800 UTC) -- Video File of Expedition 32/33 Russian State Commission meeting and final prelaunch crew news conference in Baikonur, Kazakhstan.

Saturday, July 14

  • 8:30 PM CDT (0130 UTC, July 15) -- Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M launch coverage begins
  • 9:40 PM CDT (0240 UTC, July 15) – Launch of Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M; includes video B-roll of crew pre-launch activities and launch replays from Baikonur, Kazakhstan.

Monday, July 16

  • 11:15 PM CDT (0415 UTC, July 17) -- Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M docking coverage begins (docking at 11:38 PM [0438 UTC, July 17]), followed by post-docking news conference from Mission Control in Korolev, Russia.

Tuesday, July 17

  • 2 AM CDT (0700 UTC) -- Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M hatch opening and welcoming ceremony coverage begins (ceremony scheduled for 2:25 AM [0725 UTC]).
  • 4 AM CDT (0900 UTC) -- Video File of Expedition 32/33 Soyuz TMA-05M docking, hatch opening and welcoming ceremony.

You can watch live online on the NASA TV Public and Media channels, or on your television set. Contact your local provider for the NASA TV channel in your area.



Back