Register Account

Login Help


Two ARRL Sections Getting New Section Managers, Virginia SM Re-Elected


Karl Bowman, W4CHX, of Raleigh, is the new ARRL North Carolina Section Manager, effective on February 20. Outgoing SM Bill Morine, N2COP, of Wilmington, decided not to run for another term after serving since 2010. Although his term did not end until April 1, Morine asked to step down early, due to business and personal commitments, and let Bowman step in early. Membership and Volunteer Programs Manager Dave Patton, NN1N, reviewed Morine’s recommendation and consulted with Roanoke Division Director Dennis Bodson, W4PWF, before making the appointment official.

In Louisiana, Jim Molan, KD5IGG, of Bunkie, will succeed Jim Coleman, AI5B, as Section Manager on April 1. Coleman decided not to run again after serving a 2 year term, and Molan was the only candidate. Molan brings to the office his experience as Assistant Section Manager, Assistant Section Emergency Coordinator, and District Emergency Coordinator.

In the only contested Section Manager race of this election cycle, Virginia Section Manager Carl Clements, W4CAC, was re-elected to a new term. He received 789 votes and his opponent, Anthony Harbour, KG4YXP, of Ridgeway, polled 568 votes. Ballots were counted on February 18 at ARRL Headquarters.

Clements, who lives in Portsmouth, has been Section Manager continuously since 2008, and he served previously as SM from 2001 until 2006. His new 2 year term begins on April 1.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for new terms of office beginning on April 1: Pete Cecere, N2YJZ, Eastern New York; Robert B. Famiglio, K3RF, Eastern Pennsylvania; Bob Schneider, AH6J, Pacific; Steve Early, AD6VI, San Diego, and Chris Stallkamp, W0ADZ, South Dakota.





Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn