ARRL

News

Two Hams Scheduled to Head to ISS This Week

03/27/2013

NASA will televise the launch and docking of its next mission to the International Space Station (ISS) beginning at 3:30 PM EDT on Thursday, March 28 (1930 UTC). NASA astronaut Chris Cassidy, KF5KDR, and Russian cosmonauts Pavel Vinogradov, RV3BS, and Alexander Misurkin are scheduled to launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:43 PM EDT (2043 UTC). They will join Canadian Space Agency astronaut Chris Hadfield, VA3OOG/KC5RNJ, NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn, KE5HOC, and Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko -- already aboard the ISS -- for Expedition 35.

It will take Cassidy, Vinogradov and Misurkin only six hours to reach the ISS. NASA will begin its live coverage of the docking at 8:30 PM (0030 UTC on Friday, March 29). The trio will dock at 9:32 PM (0132 UTC), and hatches are scheduled to open between the Soyuz and the ISS at 11:10 PM (0310 UTC).

Hadfield, Marshburn and Romanenko are scheduled to return to Earth in May 2013. Cassidy, Vinogradov and Misurkin are scheduled to return to Earth in September 2013

You can watch live online on the NASA TV Public and Media channels, or on your television. Contact your local provider for the NASA TV channel in your area.

 



Back