Secure Site Login


Leadership Challenges Set in ARRL Rocky Mountain, Southeastern Divisions


ARRL members in the Rocky Mountain and Southeastern Divisions will choose between incumbents and challengers in balloting for Division leadership positions this fall. In the Rocky Mountain and Southeastern Divisions, contests exist for the Director’s seat. In the Southwestern Division, the incumbent Vice Director is not seeking another term, and no other candidates came forward, setting the stage for a separate nomination and election process. Other candidates for the 2017-2019 term in the affected Divisions are running unopposed. All candidates have been found to be eligible by the Ethics and Elections Committee to run for office.

In the Rocky Mountain Division, incumbent Director Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, faces a challenge from Garth Crowe, WY7GC (ex-N7XKT). Allen has served as Rocky Mountain Division Director since January. As Vice Director, he succeeded Director Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT, who was elected ARRL Second Vice President at the January ARRL Board meeting. Allen was Wyoming Section Manager from 2005 until 2007. Crowe served as Wyoming SM from 2009 until 2015, and he is now an Assistant SM and an Emergency Coordinator.

In the Southeastern Division, former Director Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, will attempt to regain that position from sitting Director Doug Rehman, K4AC. Sarratt served as Southeastern Division Director from 2008 until 2013 and is a past Alabama Section Manager.

The sole candidate for the Southeastern Division Vice Director’s slot is Joseph Tiritilli, N4ZUW, of Deerfield Beach, Florida, and he has been declared elected. Tiritilli has served as an Official Observer and Official Emergency Station since November 2009. He’s also a Volunteer Examiner and an ARRL Registered Instructor.

In the Southwestern Division, sitting Vice Director Martin Woll, N6VI, has decided not to run for another term, after serving since 2008. He has been a member of the Board’s Amateur Radio Legal Defense, and Assistance and Legislative Advocacy committees. Since there were no other candidates for the Vice Director’s seat, nominees for Southwestern Division Vice Director will be resolicited and voted upon in a separate election, to be announced.

In Divisions where there is a contested race, all ARRL members living in the Division and in good standing as of September 10, 2016, will have the opportunity to vote. While electronic voting has been available in the past, the League now has returned to using only paper ballots.

Ballots and candidates’ statements will go out to members eligible to vote in the Rocky Mountain and Southeastern Divisions no later than October 1, 2016. Completed ballots are due back at ARRL Headquarters by noon Eastern Time on Friday, November 18, 2016; they will be counted on that day, and the results announced as soon as all are available.

Incumbent Directors and Vice Directors who are running unopposed for re-election and have been declared elected are:

Pacific Division Director Robert Vallio, W6RGG, and Vice Director James Tiemstra, K6JAT; Rocky Mountain Division Vice Director Jeff Ryan, K0RM; Southwestern Division Director Richard Norton, N6AA, and West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV, and Vice Director John Stratton, N5AUS.

All new terms of office begin on January 1, 2017, at 12 Noon Eastern Time.