Secure Site Login


Two Radio Amateurs among Three Returning ISS Crew Members


Three crew members on the International Space Station (ISS) are set to depart the orbital outpost on Saturday, October 29. Expedition 49 Commander Anatoly Ivanishin and Flight Engineers Kate Rubins, KG5FYJ, and Takuya Onishi, KF5LKS, will undock their Soyuz spacecraft at 1237 UTC on Saturday and land in Kazakhstan at 0359 UTC on Sunday.

Their return will wrap up 115 days in space for the crew since their July launch. Together, the Expedition 49 crew members pursued hundreds of experiments in biology, biotechnology, physical science, and Earth science aboard the orbiting laboratory.

Once the Soyuz undocks, Expedition 50 will begin aboard the ISS under the command of NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough, KE5HOD. He and his crewmates Sergey Ryzhikov and Andrey Borisenko will operate the station for 3 weeks until the arrival the next crew increment — Peggy Whitson, KC5ZTD; Thomas Pesquet, KG5FYG, and Oleg Novitsky are scheduled to launch in November from Kazakhstan.

NASA TV will cover this weekend’s departure of the three ISS crew members. — Thanks to NASA