ARRL

News

W1AW Announces 2012-2013 Winter Operating Schedule

11/05/2012

With the switch from Daylight Saving Time to Standard Time, W1AW Station Manager Joe Carcia, NJ1Q, has updated the W1AW operating schedule to reflect the change. The local standard times have not changed, but the UTC times they reference have. 

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:

1500 UTC-1700 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EST), 1800 UTC-2045 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EST)

Station closed 1700-1800 UTC (12 PM-1 PM EST)

Morning Schedule

Time

Mode

Days

1400 UTC (9 AM EST)

CWs

Wed, Fri

1400 UTC (9 AM EST)

CWf

Tue, Thu

 

Afternoon/Evening Schedule

Time

Mode

Days

2100 UTC (4 PM EST)

CWf

Mon, Wed, Fri

2100 UTC (4 PM EST)

CWs

Tue, Thu

2200 UTC (5 PM EST)

CWb

Daily

2300 UTC (6 PM EST)

Digital

Daily

0000 UTC (7 PM EST)

CWs

Mon, Wed, Fri

0000 UTC (7 PM EST)

CWf

Tue, Thu

0100 UTC (8 PM EST)

CWb

Daily

0200 UTC (9 PM EST)

Digital

Daily

0245 UTC (9:45 PM EST)

Voice

Daily

0300 UTC (10 PM EST)

CWf

Mon, Wed, Fri

0300 UTC (10 PM EST)

CWs

Tue, Thu

0400 UTC (11 PM EST)

CWb

Daily

 

Frequencies

  • CW: 1.8025, 3.5815, 7.0475, 14.0475, 18.0975, 21.0675, 28.0675 and 147.555 MHz
  • Digital: 3.5975, 7.095, 14.095, 18.1025, 21.095, 28.095 and 147.555 MHz
  • Voice: 1.855, 3.990, 7.290, 14.290, 18.160, 21.390, 28.590, 147.555 MHz

Speeds

  • CWs: Morse code practice (slow) -- 5, 7.5, 10, 13 and 15 WPM
  • CWf: Morse code practice (fast) -- 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 13 and 10 WPM
  • CWb: Morse code bulletins -- 18 WPM

CW frequencies include code practices, Qualifying Runs and CW bulletins.

Digital: BAUDOT (45.45 baud), BPSK31 and MFSK16 in a revolving schedule.

Code practice texts are from QST; the source of each practice is given at the beginning of each practice and at the beginning of alternate speeds.

On Tuesdays and Fridays at 2330 UTC (6:30 PM EST), Keplerian elements for active amateur satellites are sent on the regular digital frequencies.

A DX bulletin replaces or is added to the regular bulletins between 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Thursdays and 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Fridays.

In a communications emergency, monitor W1AW for special bulletins as follows: Voice on the hour, Digital at 15 minutes past the hour and CW on the half hour.

All licensed amateurs may operate the station from 1500 UTC-1700 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EST), and then from 1800 UTC-2045 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EST) Monday through Friday. Be sure to bring your current FCC Amateur Radio license or a photocopy.



Back