Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB006 (2005)

ARLB006 ARRL Announces Section Manager Election Results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 6  ARLB006
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  February 24, 2005
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB006 ARRL Announces Section Manager Election Results

The ARRL North Texas, Arkansas and Arizona sections will get new
Section Managers this spring. Ballots cast in the two contested
races of the current Section Manager (SM) election cycle were
counted and verified February 22 at ARRL Headquarters. New terms of
office for successful candidates begin April 1.

In the North Texas Section, Tom Blackwell, N5GAR, outpolled
incumbent SM Roy Rabey, AD5KZ, 853 to 586. Rabey has served as SM
since 2003. A resident of Dallas, Blackwell has served as State
Government Liaison for eight years under previous SMs.

In Arkansas, David Norris, K5UZ, won the open SM slot 353 to 199
over Terry Busby, W5ARS. Norris, who lives in Batesville, has served
as an ARRL Assistant SM for eight years, is active in ARES and RACES
and is an avid DXer and contester. He'll succeed Dennis Schaefer,
W5RZ, who has served as SM since 2003 and did not seek a new term.

In Arizona, Tom Fagan, WB7NXH, will take over the reins from Cliff
Hauser, KD6XH, who did not seek a new term after serving for 12
years. Fagan, who had no opposition, now serves as Technical
Coordinator and has served as Arizona Section Emergency Coordinator
for the past two years. He also has held Emergency Coordinator and
District Emergency Coordinator positions.

Incumbent SMs in four other ARRL sections also ran unopposed and
will continue in office for new two-year terms. They are Jim Lasley,
N0JL, Iowa; John Meyers, NB4K, Kentucky; Malcolm Keown, W5XX,
Mississippi; and Carl Gardenias, WU6D, Orange.

Since no candidates have sought to run for the Montana, Puerto Rico
and Wyoming SM positions, nominations will be resolicited in the
April issue of QST.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn