Secure Site Login

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB009 (2007)

ARLB009 Section Manager Election Results Announced

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 9  ARLB009
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  February 21, 2007
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB009 Section Manager Election Results Announced

One new ARRL Section Manager has been elected, while eight incumbent
SMs have retained their seats. New terms for all successful
candidates begin April 1. Contested elections took place in two ARRL
sections, and ballots were counted and verified February 20 by
Membership and Volunteer Programs staff members at ARRL

In Kentucky, Jim Brooks, KY4Z, of Cox's Creek outpolled former SM
Bill Uschan, K4MIS, 426 to 105. Brooks will succeed John Meyers,
NB4K, who has been Kentucky's SM since 2001. Meyers did not run for
re-election. Brooks, a ham for 20 years, says he wants to build on
Meyers' achievements.

Brooks has served in various leadership positions in his local club.
Since 2004, he has been the ARRL Kentucky Section Public Information
Coordinator. He is trained in ARES, enjoys working DX, serves as an
ARRL Volunteer Examiner and is a registered instructor.

In North Texas, incumbent SM Tom Blackwell, N5GAR, received 816
votes to 761 for challenger Doug Loughmiller, W5BL, to win a second

Seven other incumbent ARRL Section Managers faced no opposition in
the current election cycle and were returned to office for new,
two-year terms. They are: Tom Fagan, WB7NXH, Arizona; David Norris,
K5UZ, Arkansas; Jim Lasley, N0JL, Iowa; Malcolm Keown, W5XX,
Mississippi; Doug Dunn, K7YD, Montana; Carl Gardenias, WU6D, Orange,
and Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, of Wyoming.