Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB012 (2006)

ARLB012 Robert M. McDowell joins FCC

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 12  ARLB012
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  June 7, 2006
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB012 Robert M. McDowell joins FCC

Robert M. McDowell has been sworn in as an FCC commissioner by FCC
Chairman Kevin J. Martin, returning the agency to its full
five-member complement for the first time in more than a year. After
some delay due to political maneuvering, the US Senate recently
confirmed the nomination of McDowell, of Virginia, to fill the seat
vacated last December by Kathleen Q. Abernathy. His term will expire
June 30, 2009.

''There are many challenging issues facing the Commission, and I am
eager to begin working on them with my fellow commissioners, with
Congress, and with the American people,'' McDowell said. ''I am
confident that our efforts will help bring the most advanced and
efficient communications systems in the world to all American

Martin applauded McDowell's arrival, which gives him a Republican
majority on the FCC for the first time in his tenure as chairman.
Since Martin--an FCC member during Michael Powell's tenure as
chairman--took over the chairmanship, the political balance on the
Commission has been split evenly between two Republicans and two
Democrats. Members of a president's political party hold a majority
on the FCC.

In addition to Martin, McDowell--a telecommunications attorney--will
join fellow Republican Deborah T. Tate, who officially came aboard
January 3. The Commission's two Democrats are Michael J. Copps, who
is in his second term, and Jonathan Adelstein.

McDowell brings to the FCC nearly 16 years of private-sector
experience in the telecommunication industry.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn