Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB015 (2006)

ARLB015 Incumbent Section Managers overcome re-election challenges

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 15  ARLB015
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 22, 2006
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB015 Incumbent Section Managers overcome re-election challenges

Incumbent ARRL Section Managers in Ohio and Idaho won re-election
in the only two contested races of the current SM election cycle.
ARRL Field and Educational Services staffers counted and verified
election ballots August 22 at ARRL Headquarters. Sitting SMs were
re-elected without opposition in seven other League sections.

In the Ohio Section, veteran SM Joe Phillips, K8QOE, outpolled
challenger Mark Erbaugh, N8ME, 1235 to 747. Phillips has been in
office since October 1998.

In the Idaho Section, incumbent SM Doug Rich, W7DVR, topped a
field of three candidates. Rich received 154 votes to 118 for John
Wilson, K0IP, and 83 for past three-term Idaho SM Don Clower, KA7T.
Rich has been SM since September, 2003, when he was appointed to
fill the year remaining in the previous SM's term. He was elected in
his own right in October 2004.

Incumbent SMs in seven ARRL sections were elected without
opposition. They are: Betsey Doane, K1EIC, Connecticut; Skip
Jackson, KS0J, Minnesota; Kent Olson, KA0LDG, North Dakota; John
Thomason, WB5SYT, Oklahoma; Sherri Brower, W4STB, Southern Florida;
John Ellis, NP2B, Virgin Islands and Scott Bauer, W2LC, Western New

New two-year terms for successful candidates begin October 1.

The ARRL will re-solicit nominations for the position of Puerto
Rico SM starting in the October 2006 QST. In the meantime, incumbent
Puerto Rico SM Victor Madera, KP4PQ, will continue in office.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn