Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB019 (2008)

ARLB019 Section Manager Election Results Announced

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 19  ARLB019
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 19, 2008
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB019 Section Manager Election Results Announced

There were nine Section Manager races this Fall, four of which saw
no opposition. Election ballots were counted and verified on
Tuesday, November 18 at ARRL Headquarters for the remaining five
races. Terms of office for these new Section Managers will begin on
January 1, 2009.

In Nebraska, Art Zygielbaum, K0AIZ, defeated two other candidates in
a very close race, receiving 124 votes. Opponents Jeff Beiermann,
WB0M, of Omaha, received 118 votes while incumbent Section Manager
Matthew Anderson, KA0BOJ, of Ashland, received 74 votes. Zygielbaum,
who lives in Lincoln, was first licensed in 1961; he is presently
vice president of the Lincoln Amateur Radio Club. He is active in
emergency and public service communications, contesting, DXing,
satellite, digital modes and QRP operation.

Incumbent New York City/Long Island Section Manager Tom Carrubba,
KA2D, of West Babylon, decided not to run for another term, so two
other hams stepped up to run for the position: Mike Lisenco, N2YBB,
of Brooklyn, and Robert Biamonte, WB2OMW, of Levittown . Lisenco was
declared the winner with 468 votes; Biamonte received 134 votes.
Lisenco presently serves as Assistant Section Manager and Section
Emergency Coordinator. Prior to those appointments, he was the
District Emergency Coordinator for New York City. Lisenco is an avid
DXer and contester and has previously served as vice president of
the Kings County Radio Club.

In the Eastern Massachusetts election, Mike Nielsen, W1MPN, of
Hudson, defeated incumbent Section Manager Art Greenberg, K1GBX, of
Georgetown. Nielson received 660 votes to Greenberg's 224. Neilsen
served as Eastern Massachusetts Section Manager from January
2005-December 2006. Just prior to his first term as Section Manager,
he served as the Section Emergency Coordinator for the Section from
September 2001-January 2005.

Section Manager of the Southern New Jersey Section since 1997, Jean
Priestley, KA2YKN, of Pennsauken, decided not to run for another
term of office. George Strayline, N3GZ, of Villas, and Rick
Stoneking, W2RDS, of Lumberton, sought the post. With 236 votes,
Strayline was declared the winner; Stoneking received 209 votes.
Strayline is a founding member of the Jersey Cape D-Star User Group
(JCDUG). He is also a member of the Cape May County Amateur Radio
Club and an active ARRL Accredited Volunteer Examiner and Official
Observer. He enjoys high speed CW, DX and home brewing.

Indiana will also have a new Section Manager starting in January,
since incumbent Section Manager Jim Sellers, K9ZBM, of Middlebury,
decided not to run for another term. Sellers has served as Section
Manager since July 2002. Raymond Andrews, K9DUR, of West Terre
Haute, and John Poindexter, W3ML, of Knox, were candidates for the
open seat. Andrews received 531 votes and Poindexter received 261

After ballots had already been mailed out to ARRL members in the
Indiana Section, Andrews wrote to ARRL Headquarters withdrawing his
candidacy due to health concerns. As such, the Section Manager's
position for the new term starting in January was considered vacant
because Andrews won the majority of votes.

According to the Rules and Regulations of the Field Organization,
vacancies in the office of Section Manager shall be filled by
appointment by the ARRL Membership and Volunteer Programs Manager,
in consultation with the respective Section's Director. After ARRL
MVP Manager Dave Patton, NN1N, consulted with ARRL Central Division
Director Dick Isely, W9GIG, John Poindexter, W3ML, has been
appointed Indiana Section Manager with a term to begin January 1,
2009.  Poindexter's term of office will be for 18 months -- instead
of two years -- because this new term of office in Indiana had to be
resolicited.  Poindexter has been a radio amateur since 1979 and has
held appointments as an Assistant Emergency Coordinator, past
president of the Wabash Valley Amateur Radio Club, and president of
the Starke County Amateur Radio Club. He is active in public service
communications, DXing and contesting.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face
opposition and were declared elected for their next terms of office
starting January 1, 2009: Dale Bagley, K0KY (Missouri); Jim Boehner,
N2ZZ (South Carolina); Dee Turner, N4GD (West Central Florida), and
John Rodgers, N3MSE (Western Pennsylvania).  Since there were no
Section Manager nominations received for the next term of office in
Northern New York, nominations will be resolicited in the January
2009 issue of QST.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn