Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB053 (1998)

ARLB053 ARRL Board announces award winners

ARRL Bulletin 53  ARLB053
From ARRL Headquarters
Newington CT  July 20, 1998
To all radio amateurs

ARLB053 ARRL Board announces award winners

The ARRL Board of Directors has announced that Antone ''Tony'' Duarte,
N1XRS, of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, is the 1997 Hiram Percy Maxim
Memorial Award winner. The award goes annually to an amateur under
age 21 who has demonstrated exemplary ham radio contributions and
accomplishments. Duarte, 16, was nominated by Eastern Massachusetts
Section Manager Lawrence Ober, W1MW, who received a dozen letters
supporting the nomination. Nominators cited Tony's active
participation ARES and SKYWARN and his extensive record of public
service contributions, as well as his technical skill and his
leadership role, especially among younger hams. The Hiram Percy
Maxim Memorial Award carries a 1000 dollar(s) stipend, an engraved plaque,
and a trip an ARRL convention for a formal award presentation.

The ARRL Board also named Stephan M. Anderman, K2SMA, of Hamburg, New
Jersey, as the recipient of the Philip J. McGan Silver Antenna Award.
The McGan award goes to an amateur who has done the most in the
previous year to promote Amateur Radio. It's named for journalist
Philip J. McGan, WA2MGQ (SK), the first chairman of the ARRL Public
Relations Committee. Anderman is the host of the ham radio program
''This Week in Amateur Radio'' and editor of ''The Hudson Loop,'' the
Hudson Division newsletter. The Board also expressed its thanks to
all amateurs engaged in public relations efforts on behalf of the

Named by the Board to receive the ARRL Technical Excellence Award
were Eileen Lau, KE6VWU; Kai-Wai Chiu, KF6GHS; Jeff Qin, KF6GHY;
John Davis, KF6EDB; Kent Potter, KC6OKH; and David Rutledge, KN6EK,
all of the California Institute of Technology. The group was
recognized for its article, ''High-Efficiency Class-E Power
Amplifiers'' in the May and June 1997 issues of QST.

The Board selected Frank McNally, KF0WF, of Colorado Springs,
Colorado, as the recipient of the Herb S. Brier Instructor of the
Year Award for 1997, and Robert Lavin, K6BOB, of Calabasas,
California, as the recipient of the Professional Educator of the Year
Award for 1997.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn