Secure Site Login

ARRL Clubs - Coon Valley ARC

Coon Valley ARC

Coon Valley ARC

Contact Information

Club Name:
Coon Valley ARC
Call Sign:
Douglas L. Jensen KA0QNW
Daytime Phone:
(712) 304-4131

Basic Information

Call Sign:
Annual Report:
Mar 05th 2020
Meeting Time:
First Wednesday of most months @ 7 pm
Meeting Place:
Audubon Fire Station - Audubon, IA
Affiliation Date:
Mar 23rd 1961
General Interest, Public Service/Emergency, Repeaters
Services Offered:
Mentor, Repeater

The Coon Valley Amateur Radio Club, founded in 1961, is a group of amateur radio operators who share an interest in communications skills, knowledge, and service.  Currently headquartered in Audubon, Iowa, the club originated and still draws members from the area in and around the Raccoon River valley of central and west-central Iowa.

We try to get together often, in person and on the radio, to practice, learn, and most of all enjoy radio communications.

The club runs two to three nets per week on our local repeater in Audubon (147.120 + no PL tone) — Monday, Wednesday, and Friday nights at 9:00 pm local time. These nets help to ensure that our equipment is functioning properly and that our operator skills remain sharp should we ever be called into action.

Our club meetings are held monthly, unless otherwise noted, at the Audubon, Iowa Fire Station on the first Wednesday of most month at 7:00 local time. Please check the club's website ( ) for the latest meeting time, date, and location.

We gladly welcome all those who would like to learn more about amateur radio, to join us at a monthly meeting and to all of our public events. We’ll see you soon!

In 2019, the Coon Valley Amateur Radio Club acquired the call WA0GUD in honor of longtime club member, Elmer, and all-around good guy, Arnold "Arnie" Krauel, who previously held the call.  Arnie became a Silent Key in January of 2019, and we can only attempt to be as dedicated and proficient an operator as he was.  Thank you Arnie, you are missed.


Club Statistics

Club Members:
Voting Members:
Voting Licensed Amateur Members:
Voting ARRL Members:

Coon Valley ARC Officers

  • Douglas L. Jensen KA0QNW

    Contact, President

    Douglas L. Jensen KA0QNW

  • Alan L. Ashcraft KC0ZRE


    Alan L. Ashcraft KC0ZRE

  • Ronald F. Gruber WB0YCV


    Ronald F. Gruber WB0YCV

  • Mark J. Trullinger K0MJT

    Vice President

    Mark J. Trullinger K0MJT

  • George A. Riedell KB0HVB


    George A. Riedell KB0HVB