ARRL

Amateur License Plate Information

Amateur Radio License Plate Fees

If you know that any of this information is incomplete or incorrect, please contact us: reginfo@arrl.org.

STATE "HAM TAGS" INFORMATION

State

Initial/Renewal Plus Usual Registration Fee

Miscellaneous

Alaska

$ Free/Free

Available to any amateur if VHF or UHF gear is installed in a vehicle.
Visit: www.state.ak.us/dmv/plates/amradio

Alabama

$ 24.50/3

Visit: www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/amradio

Arizona

$ 25/25

Visit: www.azdot.gov

Arkansas

$ 20

Private passenger vehicles and pickups only. Waiting period of 6 weeks.
Visit: www.dfa.arkansas.gov

California

$ 20/none

Visit: www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d03/vc5005

Colorado

$60/$2

Visit: www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite

Connecticut

$25/Free

Only issued for passenger, commercial, combination, camper or motorcycles. Processing time--9 weeks. Visit: www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp

Delaware*

$ 10/Free

 

District of Columbia $ 52/25 The District of Columbia will issue an amateur radio callsign on a "personalized" license plate. Visit: dmv.dc.gov/service/obtain-specialty-vehicle-tags

Florida

$ 5.00/1.50

Visit: www.flhsmv.gov/specialtytags

Georgia

$ 55 per year ($20 tag fee, $35 vanity fee)

Go to your Georgia county tag office with your FCC license, photo ID, and applicable vehicle registration document. A 90-day temporary tag (cardboard) will be issued to you and your vehicle registration data will be updated on the spot. The permanent tag will be mailed to you within the 90 day period. The process is free. Visit: motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/plates

Hawaii

$10/0

Must apply through county Civil Defense office.Takes 4-8 weeks.
Visit: www1.honolulu.gov/dem/hampl

Idaho

$ 5/free

Download: Form [PDF]

Illinois

$ 4/free

Visit: www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/license_plate_guide Download: Form [PDF]

Indiana

$ 9/0

Visit: www.in.gov/bmv

Iowa

$ 5/5

Visit: www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ovs/plates/amateur
Download: Forms [PD

Kansas

$ 1/1

Passenger or trucks. Same call sign/tag permitted on cars and trucks.
Visit: www.ksrevenue.org/dmv-amradio

Kentucky

$ 46 / $21

Visit: mvl.ky.gov/MVLWeb

Louisiana

$ 25/Free

Visit: omv.dps.state.la.us

Maine

$ 15/15

Visit: www1.maine.gov/online/bmv/vanity/

Maryland

$ 5/5

Visit: www.mva.maryland.gov/Vehicle-Services/SpecialtyPlates   
Downlaod: Form [PDF]

Massachusetts

$ 60/45

Visit: http://www.massdot.state.ma.us/rmv/forms/21584.pdf

Cost to apply and make up the set of two license plates is $20.00.  You are required to send a photocopy of yourncurrent FCC license with your applivation.  Once the plates are ready, which takes 4-8 weeks, the RMV will send them to a branch Registry office of your choosing.  You then must go to that office, remove your old plates from your vehicle and exchange them.  

Michigan

$ 2/free

--Novice operators not eligible for ham plates --The Michigan state law itself authorizes amateur radio operators to receive police frequencies in their vehicles. A ham plate is NOT required, or even mentioned in the law. The amateur radio license plate is optional. Download: Form [PDF]

Minnesota

$ 10/free

Visit: www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs/PlBrochure/amateurradio

Mississippi

$15/Free

Visit: www.dmv-department-of-motor-vehicles.com

Missouri

$ 15/15

Download: Form [PDF]

Montana

$ 5/

Visit: doj.mt.gov/driving

Nebraska

$5/5

Passenger, camper, or truck. Processing time--4-6 weeks Visit: www.dmv.ne.gov/dvr/specialty/amradio Download: Form [PDF]

Nevada

$25/free

Visit: www.dmvnv.com/platesorganization

New Hampshire

$ varies

Fees based on the book value of car

New Jersey

$ 15/free

More than one car can use a ham call (eg. W2WEC-2)

New Mexico

$ 5/18

Visit: http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/organizations-and-causes.aspx
Download: Form [PDF]

New York

$ 35/ $6.25

 Visit: www.dmv.ny.gov/cplates. Download: Form [PDF]

North Carolina

$10/10

Must have a current FCC amateur radio license. Vehicle must be titled in ham's name. Must have "purchased a portable radio unit suitable for use in emergencies." \More than one vehicle may be licensed with the same call (with suffix "-#"). \Tag says "Amateur Radio" and call sign. Download: Form [PDF]

North Dakota

$ Free/ Free

Download: Form [PDF]

Ohio

$ 10/10

Download: Form [PDF]

Oklahoma

Initial fee: $11.00  Renewal:$9.50

Download:  Form  [PDF]

Oregon

$ 8/free

Visit: oregon.gov/ODOT
Download: Form [PDF]

Pennsylvania

$ 20/free

Takes 12 weeks to process. Download: Information [PDF]  Form [PDF]

Rhode Island

$ Free

See More Information

South Carolina

$ 2

Plate valid until the following Oct. 31st Plate valid for one year.
Visit: www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew
Download: Form [doc]

South Dakota

$10/10

Plates permitted on one car only. Download: Form [PDF]

Tennessee

Visit Website

Available to: Owners or lessees of passenger motor vehicles who are residents of the state of Tennessee and who hold an un- revoked and un-expired official amateur radio license issues by the FCC. Download: Form [PDF]

Texas

$ free

 

Can have the same plate on multiple vehicles. Must have transmitting equipment in vehicle. Title need not be in vehicle.  Visit:

http://txdmv.gov/motorists/license-plates/specialty-license-plates/item/271-amateurradiooperator?ml=1

 http://txdmv.gov/reports-and-data/doc_download/995-vtr-53-mobile-amateur-radio-operator

Utah

$ 13/none

Visit: dmv.utah.gov/vehicles-services-menu/license-plates

Vermont

$10

Visit: dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/drivers/plates

Virginia

$ 1/1

Amateur equipment must be kept in the vehicle. Amateur must own the vehicle. Visit: www.dmv.virginia.gov/exec/vehicle/splates Download: Form [PDF]

Washington

$ 5/

Processing time of 6-8 weeks. Visit:

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.220

West Virginia

$ 5/

Download Form [PDF]

Wisconsin

$15/free

Visit: www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/vehicles/personal/special/amateur Download: Form [PDF]

Wyoming

$ 30/

Obtain Amateur Radio plate application from DOT office.
Visit: http://www.dmv.org/wy-wyoming/license-plates.php#Specialty-Plates-
Download: Form [PDF]
Note: Wyoming does not issue amateur plates for motorcycles. 

NOTE: Most states require a copy of an FCC amateur license as well as proof that tax has been paid on the vehicle. They also require that the title is in the ham's name. The license fees, in most cases, are in addition to the usual registration fee.

* The information needs to be updated or confirmation that it is correct. The information is updated as received from amateurs in a particular state.

Join ARRL

Donate Now