ARRL

Secure Site Login

ARRL Learning Network

ARRL Learning Network

Overview: ARRL's Learning Network is a webinar series to help introduce members to the variety of activities and opportunities enjoyed by radio amateurs. These live presentations will be given by member-volunteers, for all members. Like hamfest forums and radio club presentations, the webinars are intended to help participants get more active, involved, and engaged in amateur radio. Presentations are 30-minutes each to accommodate attendee's busy schedules, followed by a 15-minute period for questions-and-answers. For additional information contact ARRL's Lifelong Learning department.

  • Register now! ARRL members may register for upcoming presentations and view previously recorded webinars by clicking here.

Webinar Schedule

Technicians: Life Beyond Repeaters
Presented by Anthony Luscre, K8ZT
Maybe you just received your Technician license, or perhaps you have had it for a while and burnt out on sparse FM Repeater contacts. Take a new look at the possibilities available to you beyond repeaters. Explore Tech HF and 6 Meter privileges for SSB, CW and Digital Modes (FT8/FT4/RTTY) to expand your operating modes and the distance covered in contacts. Explore other VHF/UHF uses, including SSB, Satellite Operation, FM Simplex, Digital Modes, Contesting, and more.
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 @ 1 pm EST (1800 UTC)

The Art and Science of Operating Ultra-Portable
Presented by Mike Molina, KN6EZE
Ultra-portable operation or being able to carry your radio over distances e.g., in a backpack, is quickly growing in popularity. Whether for SOTA, POTA, backcountry survival, or just spending time in nature, learning how to operate ultra-portable is a fun and rewarding experience. In this presentation, Mike KN6EZE, will cover the basics of ultra-portable operating for both the new and experienced ham operator.
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 @ 8 pm EDT (0000 UTC on Friday, April 7)

Finding and Fixing RFI
Presented by Paul Cianciolo, W1VLF
RFI (Radio Frequency Interference) has been a problem for Ham radio operators and SWL’s (Shortwave listeners) since the radio hobby began. Both from natural sources (QRN) and manmade sources (QRM). Things have changed in the last 20 years with the advent of widespread solar power, LED lightning , grow lights, digital computing devices etc. The technology boom has enhanced our daily lives, but at what price? Learn all about finding and fixing RFI in today's world.
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 @ 1 pm EDT (1700 UTC)

HF Noise Mitigation
Presented by ARRL Northwestern Division Director Mike Ritz, W7VO
An educational seminar to help both new and experienced amateurs who are on HF and finding themselves plagued with noise. We'll learn what "noise" is, about the various noise sources, and how to mitigate those noises using a variety of techniques..
Thursday April 22, 2021 @ 3:30 pm EDT (1930 UTC)

Registration & Recordings

ARRL members may register for upcoming presentations and view previously recorded webinars by clicking here.