European Conference of Postal & Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT)

European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) radio-amateur license -- allows US Amateurs to travel to and operate from most European countries without obtaining an additional licensee or permit. For a US citizens to operate an amateur station in a CEPT country, certain requirements of the CEPT European Radio Committee (ERC) must be met for participation by non-CEPT Administrations (the US is a Non-CEPT administration who has obtained permission to allow its licensees the privilege of operation from CEPT countries).

Under the CEPT Agreement, to activate operating authority, a traveler would have to carry credentials in English, French and German that the person, if a US citizen, and if a Commission-authorized amateur operator, is entitled to certain amateur station operating privileges in the specific countries that have implemented the CEPT Agreement.

Under the CEPT agreement, US Amateurs need to bring three things when traveling to a participating CEPT country:

1) Bring their original US license

2) Bring proof of US citizenship (generally in the form of a Passport)

3) Bring a copy of the FCC's Public Notice (this notice contains its information in three languages, English, French and German) which details what US Amateurs need to consider, and bring with them, when traveling to a CEPT country.

[Note: While FCC does not state that your original hardcopy license is a document you must carry in CEPT areas, the actual CEPT agreement the US agreed to indicates that US Amateurs will possess such a document; so be sure to bring your FCC-issued original hardcopy license document when you travel and operate in CEPT areas].

Classes of License/Operation
There are two levels of reciprocity with the European Community under what is known as CEPT:

Full reciprocal operating privileges are accorded to US Amateur Extra and Advanced class licensees under T/R 61-01.

Limited reciprocal operating privileges are accorded to US General class licensees in European countries that have adopted ECC Recommendation (05)06.  

There is no equivalent CEPT class for the US Technician or Novice license, therefore a US Technician or Novice licensee is not eligible to operate under CEPT reciprocity.

CEPT countries participating in CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 as of February 2015 :


Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark4, Estonia, Finland7, France5, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway8, Poland, Portugal9, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom


1 - An automatic reciprocal agreement exists between the US and Canada, so there is no need to apply for a permit. Simply sign your US call followed by a slant bar and the Canadian prefix and /number identifier for the province or territory in which you are operating.

2 - Including French Guiana, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Ile Amsterdam, Ile Saint-Paul, Iles Crozet, Iles Kerguelen, Martinique, New Caledonia, Reunion, St. Pierre and Miquelon, and Wallis and Futuna Islands.

3 - Including Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands (including Guernsey and Jersey) Falkland Islands (including South Georgia Islands and South Sandwich Islands), Great Britain, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, Montserrat, Northern Ireland, St. Helena (including Ascension Island, Gough Island, Tristan Da Cunha Island),  and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

4-   Participating for Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands. 

5 – Participating for France, Corsica, Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, St. Bartholomew, St. Pierre and Miquelon, St. Martin, Reunion and its Dependencies. Mayotte, French Antarctica, French Polynesia & Clipperton, New Caledonia, and Wallis & Futuna 

6 - Participating for Great Britain, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Scotland, Guernsey and Wales 

7 - Participating for Finland and Aland Islands 

8 – Participating for Norway and Svalbard 

9 Participating for Portugal, Azores and Madeira

CEPT countries participating in ECC Recommendation (05)06 as of February 2015:



Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark4, Finland7, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands,  Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, and Switzerland.


Additional Resources: