ARRL Sections - Missouri



Contact Information

Section Name:

Basic Information




                             DALE BAGLEY, K0KY MO SM

          I am looking forward to the new and improved Missouri QSO Party that will be held April 4, 2015 to April 5, 2015, sponsored by the Boeing Employees Amateur Radio Society. Randy Wing, N0LD, and the BEARS team have made some significant changes that will increase the participation and the competition in the 2015 MO QSO Party. Randy wrote a really great article that appeared in the February Midwest Division Newsletter.  If you missed it, check out the link at  A few of the changes for the QSO Party 2015 include a simplification of the exchange.  In 2015 participants will give their name, RST and Location and no sequence number.  There will be more operating categories, non-repeater VHF operation and digital modes.  You can check out all of the rules at the link .  There will be at least 19 plaques for the top scores of each class. Clubs and individuals can sponsor one of these plaques; the cost will be $50.00.  Prospective sponsors can contact Randy at .

          I want to encourage the Missouri Section members to take advantage of Weather Spotter Training in their Area.  In the Kansas City and Northwest MO area you can find the NWS Spotter Training Schedule at .  In the St Louis Area you should check out  and in the Springfield area the website for the Spotter Training can be found at .  The Southeast MO area training is part of the region that includes Kentucky and Illinois and the link to that schedule is .  I’m sure that there are some Counties I have missed, but almost everyone can find some training using one of these links.

                                  JANUARY HAMFESTS 2015 REPORT

             The St. Louis and Suburban Radio Club, Winterfest 2015 was held January 24, 2015, in Collinsville, IL at the Gateway Convention Center. As usual the tables were sold out, and folks were elbow to elbow in the aisles for most of the morning.  The St Louis and Suburban Radio Club did a wonderful job coordinating the event and making Winterfest one of the largest Hamfest in the Midwest. 


          The Macon County Amateur Radio Club has re-elected Larry Ballew, AB0HP, as President, Ralph Howard, WD6BGN, as V.P. and Charlie Roberts, WB0HLW, is the Sec/Treas.   President Ballew announced that the Club QSO party would be January 31 and Feb 1, 2015.  Some of the other 2015 activities that MCARC will include four VE Sessions, participating in ARRL Field Day, upgrading the MCARC Emergency Trailer, continuing the MCARC Mentoring program and sponsoring the Lester Dent – Doc Savage Special event.  The MCARC meets on the last Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the Macon Community Development Building.

          The Callaway Amateur Radio League will be electing their 2015 officers at the February meeting because the January meeting was cancelled due to illness. The Boone County Simulated Emergency Test

had 29 participants. The CARL members provided simplex relay from County Health Station, and repeater contact for emergency communications.  At the December meeting it was reported that the Repeater was working well and work on the Shack, Grounds and other issues will be dealt with in the spring.

          The Hannibal Amateur Radio Club will hold Their February Dinner Meeting at Golden Corral the 14th of February at 6:30 pm. Don Vary, KD0HHN, HARC President reported the “Member of the Year “award has been ordered. Howard (K0DFW) was selected last month as “Member of the Year” and will be presented the award at the Dinner Meeting.  Don announced at the January meeting that Long time DX reporter for the HARC News, Mike Nowack, NA9Q, has informed the club that he will not be doing the DX column in the newsletter and that a replacement is needed.  Don thanked Mike for all the interesting stories he has written over the years and expressed the HARC appreciation for his effort.


                        JEFF YOUNG, KB3HF, SEC.                                                  

Total  # ARES Members                 1283

Number of Drills, Testing, Etc.       240

Number of Ham Hours                 2175.47

Number of Public Service Events      19

Number of Ham Hours                    496

Number of Emergency Operations   4 

Number of Ham hours Emer. Op.  34.5

Total ARES Operations this month 263

Total Ham Hours                          2705.97

8  out of 9 districts reporting

            For the latest updates in appointments and ARES activities please go to the Missouri ARES website.



MO SECTION NET (MON) Sessions 32 QNI 116  QTC 37  Net Mgr.  K9ZTV

MO TRAFFIC NET  Sessions 31 QNI 1533 QTC 111 Net Mgr. K0RWL

MESN  Sessions  4  QNI 224 QTC 4  Net Mgr.  K0VET

Lebanon ARES  Sessions 4  QNI 19  QTC 0  Net Mgr. KD0PLS

Callaway Co CARL Sessions 4  QNI 98  QTC 5  Net Mgr. KC0LYA

Boone Co CMRA  Session 4   QNI 53  QTC 3  Net Mgr. KC0WGB

AARC  Sessions 5   QNI 45   QTC  1   Net Mgr KB0KWC

TLARC  Sessions 1   QNI 2 QTC 256 Net Mgr. KB0OFD

Jackson County Sessions  5 QNI 112 QTC 1  Net Mgr. K0UAA

Macon Cnty ARES  Sessions  4   QNI 72  QTC 0 Net Mgr. K0KY

Rolla RRARS  Sessions 28 QNI 401  QTC 2  Net Mgr. KD0WQW

WAARCI  Sessions 4 QNI 131 QTC  1  Net Mgr. KB0HV

Texas Co  Sessions 31  QNI 640 QTC 29 Net Mgr. N0TPE

Mid-MO ARC Sessions  4 QNI 82   QTC  0 Net Mgr.  WW0G

KC ARES Digital Sessions 6 QNI 46  QTC 7 Net Mgr.  K0KEX

Franklin Co ARES  Sessions 9  QNI 60  QTC 7  Net Mgr. WA0ZUG

Northland ARES Sessions 4 QNI 75  QTC 4 Net Mgr. K0KEX

Tri-County  ARC Sessions 5 QNI 29  QTC  0  Net Mgr.  N0AUY

District A ARES  Sessions 1  QNI 39  QTC  1  Net Mgr. N4RZB

District E ARES  Sessions 9   QNI 56  QTC 1   Net Mgr. K0RIC

Hannibal ARES Sessions 5 QNI 131 QTC 3  Net Mgr. KD0HHN

Jackson Co ARES Dig Sessions 4  QNI 38  QTC  1  Net Mgr. N0AJI

St. Clair ARES   Sessions 4   QNI  19   QTC 0   Net Mgr. WA5ICX

Benton County  Sessions 1  QNI 39  QTC  1  Net Mgr  KD0CNC

10th Region CW Sessions 62  QNI 0   QTC 149  Net Mgr. W0SS

10th Region SSB Sessions 21  QNI 0   QTC 94  Net Mgr. K0VTT


Totals      Sessions 285    QNI 4037    QTC 719

10th Region Participation CW  63%  K9ZTV,  ND0N, W0SJS, W0FCE

                                                                         Net Mgr. W0SS

10th Region Participation SSB 100%  NA0OO, KB0OFD, KB0GWY

                                                                         Net Mgr. K0VTT



Missouri Officials

  • Dale Bagley

    Section Manager

    Dale C. Bagley K0KY

  • Norman Lampton

    State Government Liaison

    Norman W. Lampton KC0FNA

    View Profile

  • Jeffrey Young

    Section Emergency Coordinator

    Jeffrey L. Young KB3HF

  • Curtis Roach

    Assistant Section Manager

    Curtis J. Roach WB4NMG

  • H Haye

    Affiliated Club Coordinator

    H Keith Haye WE0G

  • Mark Biernacki

    Official Observer Coordinator

    Mark J. Biernacki KB5YZY

  • Larry Wilson

    Section Traffic Manager

    Larry G. Wilson K0RWL

  • Dennis McCarthy

    Public Info Coordinator

    Dennis John McCarthy AA0A

  • William Coby

    Assistant Section Manager

    William A. Coby KB0MWG

    View Profile

  • Wayland Mc Kenzie

    Technical Coordinator

    Wayland N. Mc Kenzie K4CHS

  • Larry Ballew

    Assistant Section Manager

    Larry D. Ballew AB0HP

  • Cecil Higgins

    Assistant Section Manager

    Cecil B. Higgins AC0HA