ARRL Sections - Tennessee



Contact Information

Section Name:
Keith Miller SR N9DGK
Daytime Phone:
615 631 9952
Evening Phone:
615 631 9952

Basic Information


Good Day to Everyone,  

I hope that all of you have been able to stay warm and had fun working some of those DX entities you have been looking for. Though it has been cold, this winter has not been as brutal as some in the past. Our year is off to a roaring start, so even though we are not in a “Birthday Mode” as we were last year, a lot of activity is going on around us.  

CENTENNIAL QSO PARTY - Attendance at the ARRL’s on-the-air Centennial celebration in 2014 was through the roof! Approximately 3.5 million contacts were recorded for W1AW portable operations and the Centennial Points Challenge during the Centennial QSO Party last year. ---  Here is the link for the rest of the article on the ARRL website:   

QST CENTENNIAL – Just when you thought that the “big celebration” was over, we celebrate this year as the centennial birth year of our flagship publication QST. The first publication came off the presses in 1915. I hope that you are enjoying the articles and online content that is now a part of one of the greatest journal publications of amateur radio in the world. Amateurs from all over the world subscribe to QST each year because of the great articles and information provided to ARRL members each month consistently for now 100 years. Thanks to Steve Ford WB8IMY and Becky Shoenfeld W1BXY and the staff for all of their efforts to provide quality information for all amateurs each month.  

DX EP6T – I hope that as many of you as possible had an opportunity to hear and work the DX entity from Kish Island, Iran (IOTA AS-166). Conditions were brutal at best and because of interference, it became even worse. I was not personally able to work it, even though I was able to hear it a couple of times. Kish was listed as the #33 most wanted entity in the world. Conditions here on the NA continent were marginal at best, especially in the heartland of the country.  

DX K1N – Another rare entity coming up in just a few days, Navassa Island. Their website for information is: Navassa is listed as the #2 most wanted entity on the January 2015 DXCC Most Wanted List. Since the island is located in the Caribbean, propagation should prove much better for many of us to be able to put it in our logbook. I hope you have as much fun chasing this one as I am going to have.  

LICENSE CLASSES – As of now, there is one class to be offered in the section on the ARRL website. It is located in West Tennessee. Here is the link: There are classes to be offered in Middle Tennessee in Williamson County. Here is a link to their page: Be sure to check with these groups if you are interested to be certain that they will be able to accommodate you. If your club or organization is offering classes, remember to post the information on the ARRL website so those interested, in your area, can contact you. It is a great way to recruit new members.  

ARRL SOLICITING NOMINATIONS FOR 6 AWARDS – The ARRL is soliciting nominations for 6 awards: the Hiram Percy Maxim Award, the key award honoring a young amateur radio operator (deadline, 3/31); the ARRL Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year Award (deadline, 3/15); the ARRL Microwave Development Award (deadline, 3/31); the ARRL Technical Service Award (deadline, 3/31); the ARRL Technical Innovation Award (deadline, 3/31); and, the Knight Distinguished Service Award (deadline, 4/30).  For further information on these awards, including the nomination procedures, see We have many fine amateurs in our section who would qualify for one of these awards. Please take a few minutes to think about recommending them. Send the information to the league and copy me so that we are aware of the submission and can make any additional recommendations necessary.   

ARES – NEW WEBSITE – Tennessee ARES now has a new website that is up and running. The link for the website is: It is still under construction so please be patient as SEC Dan O’Donovan W4DOD and his staff work to complete the details for the site. There is a lot of information that will be provided on the site when it is completed. Along with each county and district, the current Tennessee Section Emergency plan has also been posted to the page.   

ARES – ANNUAL EC REPORT - The annual ARES Emergency Coordinator Report, FORM C, is now due and requests have been made for the information to be provided from each EC to the League and to Dan W4DOD through your District Emergency Coordinator. This report is due February 3. The link to the form is here: The form takes about 5 – 10 minutes to complete. Be sure your information gets to Dan right away.  

ARES MEMBER ROSTER – The ARES reporting page has been online for quite some time now. Many counties still need to complete their member rosters. The member information helps to provide your leadership critical information about your organization including training and communication capabilities. It is vital that counties help complete the information to insure our records are accurate. If you need assistance, contact your DEC or ASEC.  

HAMFESTS AND CLUB MEETINGS – We will be adding a new page to the Tennessee Section web page for the annual Hamfest schedule. I have had many questions through the years about where and when they take place and if I will be there. I work to be at as many of the events as possible. However, for at least one time each year, I have to be away during the date. I hope that the addition of this page will be helpful to our membership.   

I have made a point of trying to be just as available to go to club meetings across the section just like I do for Hamfests. I will be going to Memphis to visit with two groups next month. I will be visiting a new forming group in Germantown as well as the Delta Amateur Radio Club on Feb. 9th and 10th.   

If your club or organization would like to have me visit, please contact me at and I will be happy to see what I can do to get you on the calendar. I look forward to hearing from you.   

SPECIAL EVENT STATIONS – Currently there are no special event stations scheduled for operation in the Tennessee Section. If you are interested in setting one up, please contact me or contact the ARRL VE section for more information on establishing a call for your activity.  

FEBRUARY SCHOOL CLUB ROUNDUP – Twice each year, the School Club Roundup is held to give amateurs the opportunity to work active clubs in schools and colleges. The first operating period for this year is FEB. 9-13. Here is a link to the online article for this vital event. Working a school club gives all a great opportunity to help perpetuate our hobby through inspiring young operators to “Get On The Air”. Here is a link to the article:   

SILENT KEYS – It is with deep regret that we received information of the passing of two Tennessee Section members: Millard Parker WB8RQS, Mountain City, TN; Willie Porter KB4BLL, Nashville, TN.  

*QUA is an international Q signal (prosign) meaning, “Have you news of _____?”  In the absence of a question mark, QUA means, “I have news of ____.” Do you have news to be shared?  

In closing, please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or want to provide input on our Section.  I can be reached via email at or via cell phone.  Thanks for everything you are doing for amateur radio and your community.  Best wishes for 2015!  73, Keith Miller Sr., N9DGK, ARRL Tennessee Section Manager, 615-631-9952 cell.  

Until next time, best 73 es DX!!  

Tennessee Officials