ARRL Sections - Missouri



Contact Information

Section Name:

Basic Information

                         MAY 2016 

                  MISSOURI SECTION NEWS

                      Cecil Higgins MO SM

          I enjoyed visiting with all the ARRL members and Hams at the Ararat Shrine ARC Hambash in Kansas City, MO.  Rod Blocksome, K0DAS, Midwest Division Director, Ron Cowan, KB0DTI, Kansas SM, and I presented an ARRL Forum. We updated those attending about the ARRL program and answered questions. I’m looking forward to next year’s Hambash.

            I know I don’t have to remind everyone that the ARRL Field Day is coming up on June 25th and 26th.   It is a good idea to list your Field Day site on the Field Day Locator so visitors can find your FD operation.  This year there are two new bonuses.  Your Field Day operation can get 100 points for having a Safety Officer and 100 points for posting Field Day related items to Social Media.  It is great to have Youth participation at your Field Day operation and there are bonus points, up to 100 points, that can be earned at the rate of 20 points for each youth under 18 that is part of the Field Day .   There are also 100 points for sending a Field Day message to the Section Manager or the Section Emergency Coordinator Jeff Young, KB3HF.  That includes Traffic directly sent to the SM and SEC or relayed to the SM and SEC.

                                    2016 HAMFEST CALENDAR

         There are no Hamfest in the Missouri Section scheduled for May or June so it is a good time to publish a list of the remaining Sanctioned Missouri Hamfests for 2016. There could be additions to this list as the year progresses. Sometimes the links are stripped from the Section News, so I’m providing the hyperlink address so you can copy and paste it to your browser.  

07/16/2016 | Warrensburg Hamfest Warrensburg, MO

07/17/2016 | Zero Beaters Hamfest Washington, MO

08/14/2016 |  St Charles ARC Hamfest  O’Fallon, MO

08/27/2016 | Joplin ARC Hamfest Joplin, MO 

10/13/2016 | St. Louis Microwave Society Conference St. Louis, MO

10/15/2016 | SouthSide ARC Hamfest Belton, MO

10/29/2016 | St. Louis ARC Halloween Hamfest Kirkwood, MO

11/05/2016 | Nixa Amateur Radio Club Hamfest Nixa, MO

11/12/2016 | Raytown ARC Hamfest  Kansas City, MO


            Leland C. Finley, WA0JSB, PCARG PIO, reports that on Saturday April 30th, the Platte County Amateur Radio Group (PCARG) held their Annual Open House at the Northland Regional Ambulance District Community Room. The Open House operated from 11:00 am through 3:00 pm with free food and drink provided by PCARG members. Equipment suppliers were on hand demonstrating amateur equipment and a sample Ham Station was on display for those interested in becoming an Amateur Radio Operator. Prior to the Open House, there was Amateur Radio license testing available for anyone interested in becoming a Ham. There is no charge for attending this event.

            Robin Cross, W0FEN, announced that the Raytown Amateur Radio Club is sponsoring a hidden transmitter hunt on May 14, 2016. This event is a free style event operating on 2 meters FM. The primary purpose of this event is to teach and practice basic transmitter hunting techniques and technologies for such purposes as; locating Radio Frequency Interference sources, search and rescue operations, and for sport.  Some of the specifics of the Hunt are: Hidden transmitter frequency: 146.565 MHz FM Simplex. (National Fox Hunting Frequency)
Participant coordination/communication frequencies include Primary Frequency (Raytown Repeater) 145.170 MHz FM -600 kHz, PL tone 151.4 Hz is optional and Alternate/fallback frequency 146.480 MHz FM Simplex. The hidden transmitter hunt begins at 9:00 a.m. and ends 12:00 p.m. Participants in the hunt will be in two classes of entry. Those using Doppler assisted and those utilizing Standard RFD equipment that are non-doppler.  The official starting location is the Community of Christ Church parking lot (North side of building, 6231 Manning Avenue (63rd and Manning), Raytown, MO 64133.  Robin reminded participants that they need to obey all applicable laws, that the event is a fun exercise not a “race and that the obvious disclaimers about liability apply. 

            The Macon County ARC newsletter reports that the local cable TV outlet is airing an interview with former MO Section Manager Dale Bagley, K0KY and Sally Weber, KD0NTZ.  The program was part of a series called Senior Moments and it focused on Amateur Radio in general.  It was an opportunity for the MCARC to reach out to the folks that might have an interest in becoming a Ham.  The program has been uploaded to YouTube and those interested can check it out by going to .


                             JEFF YOUNG, KB3HF, SEC.                                                   

Total  # ARES Members                 1313

Number of Drills, Testing, Etc.       306

Number of Ham Hours                 2079.7

Number of Public Service Events    33

Number of Ham Hours                     267

Number of Emergency Operations   45

Number of Ham hours Emer. Op.    123

Total ARES Operations this month   356

Total Ham Hours                            2469.7

9 out of 9 districts reporting



MO SECTION NET (MON) Sessions 31 QNI 99  QTC 65  Net Mgr.  K9ZTV

MO TRAFFIC NET  Sessions 30 QNI 1137 QTC 200 Net Mgr. K0RWL

MESN  Sessions  4  QNI 162 QTC 4  Net Mgr.  K0VET

Lebanon ARES  Sessions 4  QNI 29  QTC 0  Net Mgr. KF4MXF

Callaway Co CARL Sessions 4  QNI 73  QTC 4  Net Mgr. KC0LYA

Boone Co CMRA  Session 4   QNI 68  QTC 5  Net Mgr. KC0HSB

Jackson County Sessions  6 QNI 89 QTC 1  Net Mgr. K0UAA

Macon Cnty ARES  Sessions  4   QNI 62  QTC 0 Net Mgr. K0KY

Rolla RRARS  Sessions 29 QNI 415  QTC 8  Net Mgr. KD0WQW

WAARCI  Sessions 4 QNI 96 QTC  1  Net Mgr. KB0HV

Texas Co  Sessions 30  QNI 477 QTC 27 Net Mgr. N0TPE

Randolph Co ARES Sessions 4 QNI 28 QTC  0  Net Mgr.  N0AUY

Mid-MO ARC Sessions  4 QNI 55   QTC  0 Net Mgr.  WW0G

KC ARES Digital Sessions 4 QNI 38  QTC 7 Net Mgr.  K0KEX

Franklin Co ARES Sessions 6 QNI 61  QTC 1  Net Mgr. WA0ZUG

Northland ARES Sessions 4 QNI 70  QTC 4 Net Mgr. K0KEX

Tri-County ARC  Sessions 4  QNI 47  QTC 0  Net Mgr  N0AUY

District E ARES  Sessions 7   QNI 30  QTC 1   Net Mgr. K0RIC

Hannibal ARES Sessions 4 QNI 116 QTC 2  Net Mgr. KD0HHN

Jackson Co ARES Dig Sessions 4  QNI 36  QTC  2  Net Mgr. N0AJI

KC0YNS-1 Liaison   Sessions 1   QNI 1  QTC 209  Net Mgr. KC0YNS

AARC    Sessions 4  QNI 70   QTC  1  Net Mgr. KD0QCN

10th Region CW   Sessions 60   QNI 0  QTC 188  Net Mgr. W0SS

KD0HHN-1 Liaison Sessions 1  QNI 1  QTC 5  Net Mgr. KD0HHN

Totals         Sessions 257      QNI 3260       QTC 735



Missouri Officials

  • Cecil Higgins

    Section Manager,
    Assistant Section Manager

    Cecil B. Higgins AC0HA

    View Profile

  • Glenn Schulz

    Technical Coordinator

    Glenn B. Schulz W9IQ

  • Jeffrey Young

    Section Emergency Coordinator

    Jeffrey L. Young KB3HF

  • Curtis Roach

    Assistant Section Manager

    Curtis J. Roach WB4NMG

  • Norman Lampton

    State Government Liaison

    Norman W. Lampton KC0FNA

    View Profile

  • Mark Biernacki

    Official Observer Coordinator

    Mark J. Biernacki KB5YZY

  • H Haye

    Affiliated Club Coordinator

    H Keith Haye WE0G

  • Dale Bagley

    Assistant Section Manager

    Dale C. Bagley K0KY

  • Larry Wilson

    Section Traffic Manager

    Larry G. Wilson K0RWL

  • Larry Ballew

    Assistant Section Manager

    Larry D. Ballew AB0HP

  • William Coby

    Assistant Section Manager

    William A. Coby KB0MWG

    View Profile

  • Rod Kittleman

    Public Info Coordinator

    Rod A. Kittleman K0ADI