ARRL Sections - Tennessee



Contact Information

Section Name:
Keith Miller SR N9DGK
Daytime Phone:
615 631 9952
Evening Phone:
615 631 9952

Basic Information


       Skywarn Recognition Day December 5 2015


Section Notes  

Skywarn appreciation Day Dec. 5, 2015  

Good Day to all,  

I hope that everyone has enjoyed the beginning of your Fall season this year. I wanted to send a short email to you to let you know about the efforts underway for the annual Skywarn Appreciation Day events across the Tennessee Section.

In East Tennessee at the MRX Morristown NWS office George Hoffman KC9AAX says: “ We will be operating at the MRX National Weather Service Forecast Station in Morristown, TN for Skywarn Recognition Day.  Everyone is invited to come out on Saturday and join with us.  We will be putting up antennas and setting up radios on Friday, Dec 4.  We will begin operating on Saturday at 7:00 AM (12:00 Zulu) and will continue until Sunday morning at 7:00 AM.  We will be working all the HAM bands from 80 meters up to 6 meters as well as VHF / UHF and echolink.  Unfortunately, there will not be anyone available to give tours of the weather station during the weekend.  If you can’t make it to the station just listen for the station callsign WX4MRX on the air.” Contact George at for additional information.  

In Middle Tennessee, the Nashville NWS OHX station will be operating from Friday evening through Saturday evening 1800 local to 1800 local. They will be operating on 80 through 10 meters, VHF/UHF, IRLP, Echolink and Dstar. The following information is on the web page for operators in Middle Tennessee:

The 17th annual SKYWARN Recognition Day (SRD) on-the-air event is set for Saturday, December 5, from 0000 UTC to 2400 UTC. Cosponsored by ARRL and the National Weather Service, SKYWARN Recognition Day pays tribute to Amateur Radio operators for the vital public service they perform. Registration is now open for stations planning to participate from the National Weather Service Office in Nashville (Old Hickory). The link below will take you to a registration form for the event. _QKNR9e79SCbWM/viewform  

During the 24 hour event, Amateur Radio operators set up at NWS offices contact other hams across the country.  Amateur Radio stations exchange contact information with as many National Weather Service-based stations as possible. This event is also aimed at strengthening the bond between Amateur Radio operators and local NWS offices. Trained and experienced operators will be on-site for the entire event to help new Amateur Radio operators or others who need help or feel they lack experience. The radios, antennas, and other equipment will be provided for the event.  Operators only need to bring a positive attitude and their favorite non-alcoholic beverage.  

if you have questions, you may direct them to:  

Keith Miller – N9DGK ARRL
Tennessee Section Manager   or  

Paul Carr – N4AAN
ARRL Middle Tennessee ASEC  

We have not yet received any information from West Tennessee but are aware that the same weekend is occupied with the St. Jude Marathon that requires many, many amateurs in that area as volunteer communicators to support the event. If information is received for the Memphis NWS KNQA station, we will pass it along to you immediately.  

I am working on a newsletter to be published very soon for additional Section information.   

Stay Tuned.  

Best 73,

Tennessee Officials

  • Keith Miller

    Section Manager

    Keith E. Miller N9DGK

  • Thomas Wolfe

    Section Traffic Manager

    Thomas E. Wolfe K4CMY

  • James Goodrich

    Affiliated Club Coordinator

    James H. Goodrich WA4VGZ

    View Profile

  • David Bower

    Assistant Section Manager

    David L. Bower K4PZT

  • Glenn Snow

    Assistant Section Manager

    Glenn R. Snow N4MJ

  • G Chambers Williams

    Public Info Coordinator

    G Chambers Williams AB6EC

  • Charles Morgan

    Technical Coordinator

    Charles T. Morgan K4VCM

  • Ingrid Klose

    State Government Liaison

    Ingrid Klose KD4F

  • Greg Tomerlin

    Bulletin Manager

    Greg A. Tomerlin K4KO

    View Profile

  • John Swisher

    Official Observer Coordinator

    John B. Swisher AB4O

  • Jay Daniel

    Assistant Section Manager

    Jay C. Daniel KG4DCI